HQ Maintenance Command Communication Flight

Date Raised : 1964-06-11 Location : Nagpur
HQ Maintenance Command Communication Flight (MCCF) was formed as a section of SAASO branch of HQ MC, IAF on 11 Jun 64 at Kanpur with AVRO, Devon and Dakota aircrafts. The Units shifted to Nagpur in 1969. The status of an independent Units was granted on 24 Aug 84. The main role of the Units is communication of AOC-in-C and PSOs of HQ MC, IAF. The Units has been called upon to fly in aid to civil power in the event of natural calamities. The Units flew extensively in Op Vijay and Op Parakaram towards mobilisation of manpower and equipment. The Units took active part in the post-tsunami operations in Jan 2005 by assisting the Govt of Maldives with a one-aircraft detachment. Besides its original, the Dakotas and the Devons, the Units has also operated Dornier-228 aircraft. These aircraft were also utilized for training of Sri Lankan Air Force pilots. Later these Dorniers were also allotted out to AF Stn Yelahanka for pilot training. The Units is presently operating HS-748 Avro aircraft.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
11 Jun 64 to 02 Sep 64Flight Lieutenant Madan Mohan Sharma5108 F(P)OICNagpur
03 Sep 64 to 04 Apr 67Flight Lieutenant Harpal Singh Bedi5595 F(P)OICNagpur
04 Apr 67 to 14 Jan 68Flight Lieutenant Suresh Chand Dongriah7607 F(P)OICNagpur
15 Jan 68 to 19 Jan 70Flight Lieutenant Jimshaid Kenneth Hakim8150 F(P)OICNagpur
16 Mar 70 to 07 Aug 70Flight Lieutenant Dincey Jal Muncherjee6745 GD(P)OICNagpur
08 Aug 70 to 07 Jan 72Squadron Leader Man Mohan Lal4760 F(P)OICNagpur
07 Jan 72 to 10 Dec 72Squadron Leader Viveka Purushottam Sathe4802 F(P)OICNagpur
04 Feb 73 to 11 Jan 75Squadron Leader Sadanand Ramchandra Pedagaonkar6524 F(P)OICNagpur
30 Jan 75 to 09 Jun 76Squadron Leader Anant Chintamani Kalele6022 F(P)OICNagpur
10 Jun 76 to 22 Nov 76Squadron Leader Kuldip Puri7194 F(P)OICNagpur
23 Nov 76 to 04 Jan 81Squadron Leader Madhav Ramchandra Bhave8683 F(P)OICNagpur
05 Jan 81 to 24 Aug 81Wing Commander Gulshan Lal Dua8185 F(P)OICNagpur
24 Aug 81 to 20 Jun 82Wing Commander Pandarangi Ananta Ramakrishna Kumar8747 F(P)OICNagpur
02 Aug 82 to 26 Oct 84Wing Commander Vijay Kumar Kundan Lal Bandwar8684 F(P)OICNagpur
27 Oct 84 to 21 May 85Wing Commander Chandra Prakash Naidu10426 F(P)CONagpur
17 Jun 85 to 08 Nov 87Wing Commander Kottur Kasturi Rangachari Veeraraghava Yasas11311 F(P)CONagpur
09 Nov 87 to 08 Sep 91Wing Commander Peter Neves D'Souza10060 F(P)CONagpur
09 Sep 91 to 01 Nov 92Wing Commander Nirdosh Manfred Mulliyal9823 F(P)CONagpur
02 Nov 92 to 28 Feb 95Wing Commander Rakesh Raman Sharma13931 F(P)CONagpur
01 Mar 95 to 16 Feb 97Wing Commander Mrinal Kanti Devnath13792 F(P)CONagpur
24 Feb 97 to 30 Mar 99Wing Commander Kishore Dhami15556 F(P)CONagpur
31 Mar 99 to 26 Mar 01Wing Commander Basant Kumar Desh15876 F(P)CONagpur
27 Mar 01 to 23 Feb 03Wing Commander Mathews Mammen16618 F(P)CONagpur
24 Feb 03 to 31 Aug 04Wing Commander Daveshwar Sharma17459 F(P)CONagpur
01 Sep 04 to 15 Oct 06Wing Commander M V Shivram18120 F(P)CONagpur
16 Oct 06 to 05 Jul 09Wing Commander Tejbir Singh19958 F(P)CONagpur
06 Jul 09 to 03 Feb 11Wing Commander Sanjay Kumar Gaur21546 F(P)CONagpur
04 Feb 11 to 28 Apr 13Wing Commander ----------------99999 CONagpur
29 Apr 13 to 12 Jul 15Wing Commander V GuptaCONagpur
13 Jul 15 to 10 Jun 18Wing Commander ----------------99999 CONagpur
11 Jun 18 to Group Captain ----------------99999 CONagpur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.