Conversion and Training Squadron

Date Raised : 1948-04-01 Disbanded : 1956-12-31 Location : Agra
Initially formed as a conversion and training squadron at Agra in 1948, the Units moved over to Begumpet in 1957 and was renamed as Transport Training Wing (TTW). In 1963 after the Sino -Indian conflict, the necessity for expanding training on transport aircraft became imperative. To facilitate this requirement; existing TTW was retained at Begumpet and No.2 TTW was established at Yelahanka, a suburb of Bangalore. Here, an airfield of world war II vintage was already in existence. This deserted airfield was recommissioned after necessary repairs on August I, 1963 and began functioning under the command of Gp Capt PL Dhawan. On January 1, 1968 both the TTW s were merged to form a single TTW at Yelahanka. Later, TTWs was renamed as Air Force Station, Yelahanka. 5 Packets of C&T Flt were transferred to 12 Sqn in Jan 1955.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Apr 52 to Flight Lieutenant Balwant Wickram Chauhan3352 F(P)Fly InstAgra
15 Apr 48 to 15 Nov 48Squadron Leader Himmat Singh Ravubha Gohel1705 F(P)COAgra
Unit continued existence as TTW

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.