Air Head Quarters

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
15 Aug 47 to 02 Feb 50Air Marshal Sir Thomas Walker ElmhirstRAFCASDelhi
22 Feb 50 to 09 Dec 51Air Marshal Sir Ronald Ivelaw-ChapmanRAFCASDelhi
10 Dec 51 to 31 Mar 54Air Marshal Sir Gerald Ernest GibbsRAFCASDelhi
01 Apr 54 to 30 Sep 54Air Vice Marshal Subroto Mukerjee1551 GD(P)CASDelhi
01 Oct 54 to 08 Nov 60Air Marshal Subroto Mukerjee1551 GD(P)CASDelhi
01 Dec 60 to 31 Jul 64Air Marshal Aspy Merwan Engineer1554 GD(P)CASDelhi
01 Aug 64 to 14 Jan 66Air Marshal Arjan Singh1577 GD(P)CASDelhi
15 Jan 66 to 15 Jul 69Air Chief Marshal Arjan Singh1577 GD(P)CASDelhi
16 Jul 69 to 15 Jan 73Air Chief Marshal Pratap Chandra Lal1567 F(P)CASDelhi
16 Jan 73 to 31 Jan 76Air Chief Marshal Om Prakash Mehra1639 F(P)CASDelhi
01 Feb 76 to 31 Aug 78Air Chief Marshal Hrushikesh Moolgavkar1644 F(P)CASDelhi
01 Sep 78 to 31 Aug 81Air Chief Marshal Idris Hasan Latif1804 F(P)CASDelhi
01 Sep 81 to 03 Sep 84Air Chief Marshal Dilbagh Singh2998 F(P)CASDelhi
04 Sep 84 to 01 Jul 85Air Chief Marshal Lakshman Madhav Katre3117 F(P)CASDelhi
03 Jul 85 to 31 Jul 88Air Chief Marshal Denis Anthony Lafontaine3844 F(P)CASDelhi
01 Aug 88 to 31 Jul 91Air Chief Marshal Surendra Kumar Mehra4197 F(P)CASDelhi
31 Jul 91 to 31 Jul 93Air Chief Marshal Nirmal Chandra Suri4236 F(P)CASDelhi
01 Aug 93 to 31 Dec 95Air Chief Marshal Swaroop Krishna Kaul4721 F(P)CASDelhi
31 Dec 95 to 31 Dec 98Air Chief Marshal Satish Kumar Sareen5370 F(P)CASDelhi
31 Dec 98 to 31 Dec 01Air Chief Marshal Anil Yeshwant Tipnis5859 F(P)CASDelhi
31 Dec 01 to 31 Dec 04Air Chief Marshal Srinivasapuram Krishnaswamy6338 F(P)CASDelhi
31 Dec 04 to 31 Mar 07Air Chief Marshal Shashindra Pal Tyagi8130 F(P)CASDelhi
31 Mar 07 to 31 May 09Air Chief Marshal Fali Homi Major11442 F(P)CASDelhi
31 May 09 to 31 Jul 11Air Chief Marshal Pradeep Vasant Naik12005 F(P)CASDelhi
31 Jul 11 to 31 Dec 13Air Chief Marshal Norman Anil Kumar Browne13129 F(P)CASDelhi
31 Dec 13 to 31 Dec 16Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha13910 F(P)CASDelhi
31 Dec 16 to Air Chief Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa15405 F(P)CASDelhi

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, including press releases about Awards. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.