Air Force Technical College

Date Raised : 1956-07-06 Location : Jalahalli West
Air Force Technical College was established on 4 July 1949, in collaboration with Air Service Ltd, Hamble, UK. The college was named Technical Training College and the entire staff of the college at that time comprised officers and technicians from the Royal Air Force. The sleepy hospital town of Jalahalli, mostly consisting of World War Il army barracks occupied by Italian prisoners-of-war, was transformed into "Technical Training College" The British staff were gradually replaced by Indian personnel during the early 50s. On I January 1957, the college was renamed Air Force Technical College. The role of the college is to train graduate engineers inducted into the IAF to enable them to maintain various aircraft and weapon system as also various support systems in operational readiness. The training also aims to develop the trainees into Air Warriors by instilling in them the qualities of military leadership and Service ethos.
Unit previously existed as TTC

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
06 Jul 56 to 30 Jun 61Group Captain Mangho Jeramdas Kripalani2395 ENGCmdtJalahalli
01 Jul 61 to 31 Aug 65Group Captain Krishnamahari Narasimhan2278 RADCmdtJalahalli
25 Jan 66 to 13 Sep 66Group Captain Hari Doyal Mehra3077 ENGCmdtJalahalli
14 Nov 66 to 13 Jan 70Group Captain Roland John Hermon3449 ARMTCmdtJalahalli
28 Jan 70 to 01 Jan 72Group Captain Jehanbux Nanabhoy Jungalwalla2385 GD(P)CmdtJalahalli
02 Jan 72 to 12 Apr 76Group Captain Satya Sagar Sahgal3777 ENGCmdtJalahalli
13 Apr 76 to 02 Jan 77Air Commodore Satya Sagar Sahgal3777 ENGCmdtJalahalli
03 Jan 77 to 30 Jun 81Air Commodore Satinder Singh3784 ENGCmdtJalahalli
01 Jul 81 to 04 Jan 83Air Commodore Shiva Krishna Varma4531 ARMTCmdtJalahalli
05 Jan 83 to 30 Nov 83Air Commodore Sundaraier Venkataraman4546 SIGSCmdtJalahalli
01 Dec 83 to 27 Mar 85Air Commodore Samir Roy4953 SIGSCmdtJalahalli
28 Mar 85 to 03 Oct 86Air Commodore Chaman Lal Kotwal5431 SIGSCmdtJalahalli
04 Oct 86 to 04 Aug 88Air Commodore Jagdish Prasad Dhir5956 ELECTCmdtJalahalli
04 Aug 88 to 03 Jan 90Air Commodore Sivaramakrishnan Srinivasan5935 ENGCmdtJalahalli
04 Jan 90 to 21 Apr 91Air Commodore Pran Nath Bajaj6392 ENGCmdtJalahalli
22 Apr 91 to 10 Feb 92Air Commodore Shanti Swaroop Gupta6805 ENGCmdtJalahalli
17 Feb 92 to 31 Aug 94Air Commodore Kalayanaraman Badri Narayanan6826 ENGCmdtJalahalli
01 Sep 95 to 31 May 96Air Commodore Sundara Krishna Suresh Sitaram7910 AE(L)CmdtJalahalli
01 Jun 96 to 25 Nov 96Group Captain John Winston Rajkumar Chinnaiah11463 AE(L)CmdtJalahalli
26 Nov 96 to 31 Dec 97Air Commodore Darshan Singh Gotra10685 AE(L)CmdtJalahalli
01 Jan 98 to 03 Sep 00Air Commodore Sarjeewan Kumar Jindal10396 AE(L)CmdtJalahalli
04 Sep 00 to 15 Jul 02Air Commodore Romesh Chander Kakar11481 AE(L)CmdtJalahalli
15 Jul 02 to 31 Jul 04Air Commodore Shyam Lal Sharma12804 AE(M)CmdtJalahalli
09 Sep 04 to 30 Sep 06Air Commodore Kamal Singh13302 AE(L)CmdtJalahalli
01 Oct 06 to 30 Nov 08Air Commodore Rajiv Mittal14167 AE(L)CmdtJalahalli
01 Dec 08 to 16 Aug 09Air Commodore Packiriswamy Kanakaraj15066 AE(M)CmdtJalahalli
27 Aug 09 to 31 Jan 12Air Commodore Arun Kumar Paul15955 AE(L)CmdtJalahalli
01 Feb 12 to 01 Dec 13Air Commodore Alok Singh17622 AE(M)CmdtJalahalli
01 Dec 13 to 09 Dec 14Air Commodore Mahender Kumar Guleria17130 AE(M)CmdtJalahalli
10 Dec 14 to 31 Mar 16Air Commodore Pramod Kumar Shrivastava17283 AE(M)CmdtJalahalli
01 Apr 16 to 30 Apr 16Air Vice Marshal Pramod Kumar Shrivastava17283 AE(M)CmdtJalahalli
01 May 16 to Air Commodore Chakalayil Rajappa Mohan18517 AE(L)CmdtJalahalli
Unknown to Air Commodore Biji Philip19029 AE(L)CmdtJalahalli

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.