AFS New Delhi

Date Raised : 1948-05-01 Location : Race Course (New DelhI)
Air Force Station New Delhi was established on 01 Sep 1947. The Station was initially known as 10 Administrative Wing and was entrusted with the responsibility of helping the victims of communal riots after partition. The Station also had the responsibility of safe transfer of personnel and their families of Pakistan Air Force who were affected in the riots at the time of partition. On 11 May 1948, this Station was renamed as Royal Indian Air Force Station, New Delhi. It was rechristened as 412 Air Force Station New Delhi in 2002 - 2003 after introduction of the Squadron Concept. The Station has been renamed as Air Force Station New Delhi wef 01 Jan 12.
Unit previously existed as RIAF New Delhi

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
26 Jan 50 to 05 Mar 50Group Captain Kundan Lal Sondhi1566 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
06 Mar 50 to 31 Jul 50Wing Commander Alexander Sathyanathan Joseph Henry1643 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
18 Apr 51 to 05 Oct 54Group Captain Chaman Lal Mehta1630 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
06 Oct 54 to 16 Dec 55Group Captain Mohan Swaroop Chaturvedi1592 GD(O)Stn CdrRace Course
17 Dec 55 to 14 Oct 57Group Captain Azeez Lodhie1584 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
15 Oct 57 to 15 Jun 58Group Captain Krishna Mahesh Agerwala1648 GD(O)Stn CdrRace Course
19 Jun 58 to 25 Dec 60Group Captain Samuel Wilbert Bobb1674 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
06 Feb 61 to 18 Jun 61Group Captain Jagdev Chandra1612 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
18 Jun 61 to 16 Apr 63Group Captain Pothery Charuvary Ramachandran3514 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
16 Apr 63 to 09 Jun 64Group Captain Ramdas Shivram Shipurkar2177 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
10 Jun 64 to 16 Apr 67Group Captain Soli Cursetji Kaikobad2119 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
17 Apr 67 to 01 Jan 70Group Captain Hiranand Nandiram Mansukhani1571 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
08 Jan 70 to 19 Oct 71Group Captain Gurdial Singh Paul1941 A&SDStn CdrRace Course
20 Nov 71 to 14 Nov 73Group Captain Harbinder Singh Bedi3324 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
15 Dec 73 to 21 Nov 76Group Captain Vishnu Pratap Singh Chauhan3875 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
12 Nov 76 to 01 Oct 77Group Captain Narain L Keswani4208 GD(N)Stn CdrRace Course
01 Oct 77 to 01 Jan 79Group Captain Arvind Dalaya4025 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
26 Mar 79 to 24 Aug 82Group Captain Chandra Kant Dhawan4995 GD(P)Stn CdrRace Course
25 Aug 82 to 30 Jun 85Air Commodore Narinder Singh Arora4983 GD(P)AOCRace Course
01 Jul 85 to 03 Jan 88Air Commodore Shiv Nath Rathour5580 GD(N)AOCRace Course
04 Jan 88 to 31 Dec 89Air Commodore Ghanshyam Singh Thapa6003 GD(N)AOCRace Course
01 Jan 90 to 20 Jan 92Air Commodore Prashant Satyadeo Dikshit7487 GD(N)AOCRace Course
03 Jan 92 to 09 Jan 94Air Commodore Harbans Perminder Singh7485 GD(N)AOCRace Course
10 Jan 94 to 31 Jan 95Air Commodore Narinder Singh Chahal8155 GD(P)AOCRace Course
01 Feb 95 to 18 Apr 99Air Commodore Jagdarshan Singh Sandhu10139 GD(P)AOCRace Course
19 Apr 99 to 30 Nov 00Air Commodore Kishore Chand Sharma10171 GD(P)AOCRace Course
14 Dec 00 to 15 Apr 03Air Commodore Anup Kumar Shyam12065 GD(P)AOCRace Course
16 Apr 03 to 28 Oct 04Air Commodore Gautam Chaturvedi12965 F(N)AOCRace Course
01 Jan 12 to 31 Jul 13Air Commodore Manavendra Singh16983 F(P)AOCRace Course
01 Aug 13 to 18 Aug 15Air Commodore Guttikonda Amara Prasad Babu17714 F(P)AOCRace Course
19 Oct 15 to 30 Sep 17Air Commodore Pawan Kumar Mohey18099 F(P)AOCRace Course
01 Oct 17 to 03 Nov 19Air Commodore Maneesh Agrawal19552 F(P)AOCRace Course
Unit continued existence as 412 AFS New Delhi

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.