Air Force Records Office

Date Raised : 1956-03-01 Location : Delhi
1 Technical Training Units was formed in 1939 at Ambala to maintain records for Airmen. In 1941 this moved to Walton and in 1942 was merged with the Records officer at Bombay. It was renamed IAF Records office in 1945 and moved to Madras thereafter in 1946 and to Delhi post Independence. in June 1958 it was merged with the Directorate of Personnel Airmen, but was demerged in 1966 and moved to its present location in Subroto park
Unit previously existed as IAFRO

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Mar 56 to 14 Oct 57Wing Commander Krishna Mahesh Agerwala1648 GD(O)CONew Delhi
15 Oct 57 to 01 Feb 59Wing Commander Anil Kanta Ganguly1677 GD(P)CONew Delhi
03 Feb 59 to 31 May 61Wing Commander Gurdial Singh Paul1941 A&SDCONew Delhi
10 Aug 66 to 21 Jan 69Group Captain Harcharan Singh Bakshi2083 BALLCONew Delhi
22 Jan 69 to 29 Dec 70Group Captain Rishab Chand Suchanti3466 GD(N)CONew Delhi
30 Dec 70 to 30 Nov 74Group Captain Cherunassery Ittirarishan Nedungadi2017 A&SDCONew Delhi
01 Dec 74 to 03 Aug 75Group Captain Vir Narain4007 GD(N)CONew Delhi
04 Aug 75 to 16 Mar 77Group Captain Mangudy Balasubramaniam Krishnamurthy4019 GD(N)CONew Delhi
17 Mar 77 to 26 Sep 77Group Captain Arvind Dalaya4025 GD(P)CONew Delhi
29 Sep 77 to 30 Nov 79Group Captain Narain L Keswani4208 GD(N)CONew Delhi
24 Dec 79 to 05 Jan 82Group Captain Surindar Kumar Bajaj4884 GD(P)CONew Delhi
06 Jan 82 to 30 Jun 82Group Captain Brij Bhushan Sharma4095 GD(P)CONew Delhi
01 Oct 82 to 04 Jan 83Air Commodore Denzil Joseph Keelor4805 GD(P)AOCNew Delhi
05 Jan 83 to 31 Dec 84Air Commodore Madhukar Keshav Joshi4399 GD(N)AOCNew Delhi
01 Jan 85 to 03 Feb 88Air Commodore Sudheer Rajaram Karkare5083 GD(N)AOCNew Delhi
04 Feb 88 to 30 Sep 90Air Commodore Hamid Muhammed Shahul5461 GD(N)AOCNew Delhi
01 Oct 90 to 14 Oct 90Air Vice Marshal Hamid Muhammed Shahul5461 GD(N)AOCNew Delhi
07 Jan 91 to 02 Jan 94Air Commodore Govind Chandra Singh Rajwar8103 GD(N)AOCNew Delhi
03 Jan 94 to 31 Dec 95Air Commodore Pradip Bhagat7412 GD(P)AOCNew Delhi
01 Jan 96 to 21 Mar 99Air Commodore Krishna Shankar10641 GD(N)AOCNew Delhi
22 Mar 99 to 31 May 01Air Commodore Perinbanayagam Daniel Jeyasingh10923 GD(N)AOCNew Delhi
23 Jul 01 to 22 Apr 03Air Commodore Pradeep Kumar12029 GD(P)AOCNew Delhi
23 Apr 03 to 28 Feb 06Air Commodore Ghanshyam Singh13588 F(P)AOCNew Delhi
01 Mar 06 to 25 Dec 07Air Commodore Anil Chaudhary14564 F(P)AOCNew Delhi
01 Jan 08 to 29 Dec 08Air Commodore Shrikant Sadashiv Deshpande15577 F(N)AOCNew Delhi
29 Dec 08 to 31 Jan 10Air Commodore Vinod Kumar Chopra14563 F(P)AOCNew Delhi
01 Feb 10 to 06 Jan 11Air Commodore Harinder Jeet Walia16418 F(N)AOCNew Delhi
07 Jan 11 to 30 Sep 13Air Commodore Kalarikal Puttur Unnikrishnan Nair17023 F(N)AOCNew Delhi
01 Oct 13 to 04 Oct 15Air Commodore Subramaniam Ravi Vridhachalem18101 F(P)AOCNew Delhi
05 Oct 15 to 30 Apr 18Air Commodore Umesh Kumar18582 F(P)AOCNew Delhi
01 May 18 to 13 Sep 20Air Commodore Amitabh Raja Shendye19904 F(P)AOCNew Delhi

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.