Air Force Academy

Date Raised : 1970-03-08 Location : Dundigal
Air Force Academy is located at Dundigal, about 35 Kms away from the twin cities of Hyderabad and Secunderabad, in the state of Telangana. The academy is spread over 7,000 acres of land. The foundation stone for the academy was laid on 11 Oct 1967 by the then president Dr Zakir Hussain and was formally inaugurated on 16 Jan 1971. The crest of the academy is a Himalayan Eagle over a lighted lamp within a roundel, placed directly below the state emblem. The all pervasive endeavor of the academy is pursuit of excellence, in keeping with the motto "SHRAM SE SIDHI' i.e. "ACHIEVEMENT THROUGH DILIGENCE". The academy was set up to train cadets from all streams at one location. It imparts training to the Flying, Technical and Ground Duty Branches of the Army, Navy, Coast Guard and friendly countries. The induction of India's own jet trainer, the Kiran took place between Oct-Dec 1973. The first all-through course element on Kiran commenced flying in January 1974. However, the use of the good old Harvard at the Academy continued till November 1975 when they were finally phased out. While the all-through course element on Kiran commenced in January 1974, the all-through jet training commenced in July 1983. Training on HPT-32 was introduced in July 1985. Advanced Stage Il training on Kiran was undertaken by the Academy in July 1988. Later, in September 1990, the Short Service Commission (Helicopter) Pilots' Course commenced. Most recently, in January 2006, Stage Il Advanced Phase Flying training on Kiran has been shifted to Hakimpet due to restructuring of Flying training. . The academy upgraded to PC-7 MK-II in 2013. With this, the present role of the Academy as regards Flying training is to conduct the Stage I (Basic Phase) of Flying training of IAF and foreign cadets, Naval officers and Coast Guard officers on HPT-32. Also has 92 ATSRU (A radar Units), 14 AF hospital, A dental Units, a 6 TETTRA

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
08 Mar 70 to 28 Jun 72Air Commodore John Dunbar Aquino1777 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
16 Nov 72 to 26 Dec 75Air Commodore Lakshman Madhav Katre3117 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
05 Jan 76 to 31 Mar 76Air Commodore Hemant Ramkrishna Chitnis2964 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Apr 76 to 02 May 77Air Vice Marshal Hemant Ramkrishna Chitnis2964 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
03 May 77 to 14 Aug 78Air Vice Marshal Trilochan Singh Brar2884 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
14 Aug 78 to 23 Oct 79Air Vice Marshal Balwant Wickram Chauhan3352 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
24 Oct 79 to 06 Apr 81Air Vice Marshal Terence Joseph Desa3863 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
13 Apr 81 to 25 Jun 83Air Vice Marshal Rajagopal Sriramulu Naidu4090 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Jul 83 to 20 Mar 85Air Vice Marshal Cecil Vivian Parker4346 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
25 Mar 85 to 07 Feb 86Air Vice Marshal Jagdish Kumar Seth4403 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
22 Mar 86 to 30 Dec 87Air Vice Marshal Har Krishan Oberai4583 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
19 Jan 88 to 28 Feb 90Air Vice Marshal Eric Lionel Allen4582 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
05 Mar 90 to 30 Nov 91Air Vice Marshal Manjunath Sadanand4994 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
02 Dec 91 to 30 Sep 93Air Vice Marshal Puthettu Kurien Mani5666 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Oct 93 to 20 Dec 95Air Vice Marshal Krishnan Narayan Nair6346 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
21 Dec 95 to 17 Aug 98Air Vice Marshal Manek Bomanshaw Madon7681 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
18 Aug 98 to 31 Jul 00Air Vice Marshal Jogendra Singh Sisodia7696 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Aug 00 to 05 Jun 02Air Vice Marshal Subhash Bhojwani9734 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Jul 02 to 11 Jan 04Air Vice Marshal Vinod Kumar Verma11638 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
12 Jan 04 to 31 Aug 05Air Vice Marshal Yashwant Rao Rane12210 GD(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Sep 05 to 29 Feb 08Air Vice Marshal Dhiraj Kukreja13130 F(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Mar 08 to 31 Aug 09Air Vice Marshal Kughikombil Joseph Mathews13393 F(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Sep 09 to 31 Mar 11Air Vice Marshal Amit Aneja14668 F(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Apr 11 to 31 Dec 12Air Marshal Priya Ranjan Sharma13927 F(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Jan 13 to 30 Jun 14Air Marshal Ravinath Gururaj Burli14667 F(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Jul 14 to 30 Nov 16Air Marshal Gurinder Pal Singh15417 F(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Dec 16 to 03 Sep 18Air Marshal Amit Tiwari16806 F(P)CmdtDundigal
04 Sep 18 to 13 Oct 19Air Marshal Aravindra Singh Butola16789 F(P)CmdtDundigal
14 Oct 19 to 31 Jul 20Air Marshal Jonnalagedda Chalapati17358 F(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Aug 20 to 31 Jul 21Air Marshal Vipin Indira Panabhan Nayar16829 F(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Aug 21 to 31 Oct 21Air Marshal Sanjeev Kapoor18089 F(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Nov 21 to 28 Feb 22Air Marshal Sreekumar Prabhakaran17318 F(P)CmdtDundigal
08 Mar 22 to 31 Aug 23Air Marshal Bavisetti Chandrasekhar17726 F(P)CmdtDundigal
01 Sep 23 to Air Marshal Seethepalli Shrinivas18787 F(P)CmdtDundigal

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.