Aircrew Examination Board

Date Raised : 1956-04-01 Location : Hindon
The Aircrew Training and Testing Team was raised under Director of Operations in early 1950s. The team was also called Catboard briefly before being setup as AEB in 1956. The Board is setup as flights - A to inspect Transport, B to inspect Fighters, C to inspect Fling Training Estalishments and D to inspect Helicopters. D Flight came up in 1969. in 1985 AEB also started to training instrument rating instructors and examiners (IRIE) for Fighters. In 1996/97 IRIE for Helicopters and Command examiner course for Transport were also added.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Apr 56 to 01 Oct 56Wing Commander Ezra D'Sylva Masillamani1774 GD(P)COPalam
01 Oct 56 to 09 Jun 59Wing Commander Narayanrao Khanderao Shitoley1841 GD(O)COPalam
10 Jun 59 to 01 Feb 62Wing Commander David Eugene Bouche2774 GD(P)COPalam
01 Feb 62 to 01 Aug 64Wing Commander Toric Zachariah3026 GD(P)COPalam
01 Aug 64 to 01 Nov 65Wing Commander Issac Ezekiel Awaskar3602 GD(P)COPalam
01 Dec 65 to 01 May 68Wing Commander Arjan Dev Ralli4027 GD(P)COHindon
01 Jun 68 to 01 Jul 70Wing Commander Surendra Sahney3860 GD(P)COHindon
01 Aug 70 to 01 Oct 73Wing Commander Jagdish Kumar Seth4403 GD(P)COHindon
01 Oct 73 to 01 Oct 75Wing Commander Bhupendra Kumar Bishnoi4594 GD(P)COHindon
01 Nov 75 to 01 Jun 77Wing Commander Bharat Balkrishna Bhadkamkar4980 GD(P)COHindon
01 Jun 77 to 01 Jan 81Group Captain Mangatil Karakad Chandrasekhar4720 GD(P)COHindon
01 Jan 81 to 01 Jan 84Group Captain Poovala Govindarajulu Srivatsalu5383 GD(P)COHindon
01 Jan 84 to 01 Jan 86Group Captain Puthettu Kurien Mani5666 GD(P)COHindon
01 Jan 86 to 01 Jan 89Group Captain Satish Govind Inamdar7189 GD(P)COHindon
01 Mar 89 to 01 Jun 89Group Captain Sunil Kumar Malik9002 GD(P)COHindon
01 Jul 89 to 01 Dec 91Group Captain Jagjit Singh Ghuman10123 GD(P)COHindon
01 Dec 91 to 01 Nov 94Group Captain Druba Jyoti Sarma9822 GD(P)COHindon
01 Dec 94 to 01 Dec 97Group Captain Surendran Damodaran13133 F(P)COHindon
01 Dec 97 to 01 May 00Group Captain Arun Kumar Singwall13578 F(P)COHindon
01 May 00 to 01 Jul 02Group Captain Hitesh Hari Bhai Patel14271 F(P)COHindon
01 Jul 02 to 01 Jul 05Group Captain Nasib Singh Kadian15025 F(P)COHindon
01 Aug 05 to 01 Jun 07Group Captain Avtar Singh15706 F(P)COHindon
01 Jun 07 to 01 Dec 07Group Captain Umesh Rakhra18071 F(P)COHindon
01 Jun 08 to 01 Jun 10Group Captain Manish Khanna18554 F(P)COHindon
01 Jun 10 to 01 Jun 12Group Captain Dhananjay Vasant Khot19516 F(P)COHindon
01 Jun 12 to 01 Jun 14Group Captain Pudiapura Jawahar Mohamed20445 F(P)COHindon

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.