8 Forward Base Support Unit

Date Raised : 1976-01-12 Location : Awantipur
The airfield constrcution started in 1964 as a satellite airfield for Srinagar and was completed in 1996. The airfield was in disuse during the 1971 was but was bombed by the enemy. It was later setup as 8 FBSU in 1976

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
24 Jun 76 to 02 Dec 77Wing Commander Kalyan Krishna Kurane4426 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
03 Dec 77 to 06 Apr 80Wing Commander Madhava Krishna Khashav5119 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
07 Apr 80 to 09 May 82Wing Commander Avinash Chander Goel6503 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
10 May 82 to 06 Nov 83Wing Commander Ajai Kumar Singh6336 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
07 Nov 83 to 14 Oct 85Group Captain Ajai Kumar Singh6336 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
28 Nov 85 to 21 Nov 88Group Captain Manjit Singh Sekhon6756 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
28 Nov 88 to 26 Apr 91Group Captain Swaran Singh Banga8100 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
29 Apr 91 to 26 Feb 92Group Captain Amalendra Nath Sen8395 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
27 Feb 92 to 10 Aug 92Group Captain Kariyadil Cheriyan Kuruvilla10862 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
17 Aug 92 to 06 Oct 93Group Captain Gopalasamudram Mahadevan Vishwanathan9056 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
18 Oct 93 to 27 Dec 95Group Captain Satish Kumar Sofat12207 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
28 Dec 95 to 21 Jun 98Group Captain Udoy Narayan Ganguly12381 GD(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
22 Jun 98 to 25 Jun 00Group Captain Kughikombil Joseph Mathews13393 F(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
26 Jun 00 to 22 Apr 01Group Captain Rajinder Singh13980 F(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
23 Apr 01 to 20 Mar 02Group Captain Sapan Kumar Karmaker13379 F(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
21 Mar 02 to 09 Nov 03Group Captain Pochana Prasad Reddy15008 F(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
10 Nov 03 to 26 Mar 06Group Captain Joseph Mathew16384 F(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
27 Mar 06 to 08 Jul 07Group Captain Praveen Bhatt16970 F(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
09 Jul 07 to 03 Jul 08Group Captain Vivek Ram Chaudhari16978 F(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
01 Jul 08 to 21 Sep 09Group Captain Harish Nayani17135 F(P)Stn CdrAwantipur
04 Jul 11 to 18 Nov 12Group Captain Lalit Kumar Chawla19871 F(P)Stn CdrAwantipur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.