759 Signal Unit

Motto : Satatam Tatparah (Always Alert)
Date Raised : 1977-05-26 Location : Amer (Jaipur)
To provide reliable, secure and uninterrupted communication network in Rajasthan and Gujarat sector, a survey for installation of a communication relay station between Delhi and Jodhpur was carried out by RCPO in the early 1970s. Finally a site on Aravalli hills on the outskirts of Jaipur was chosen for setting up of the relay station. To provide a suitable administrative support to the equipment installation site, the administrative control station was selected close to Jaipur city. The foundation stone of the Units was laid on 12 Nov 74 by Shri Haridev Joshi, the then Chief Minister of Rajasthan. The first commanding officer of the Units took over the command on 26 May 77. However, the Units attained operational status in 1979. The role of the Units is to ensure an effective and uninterrupted communication between Delhi and Jodhpur and also act as a relay centre for providing transmitting/receiving facilities to and from the peripheral Unitss and adjacent hub centres.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
26 May 77 to 11 Sep 77Squadron Leader Iqbal Chand Bubber6294 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
12 Sep 77 to 22 Oct 78Wing Commander Polagam Srinivasan Krishnamurthi6272 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
23 Oct 78 to 21 Nov 82Wing Commander Gopi Chand Gupta5982 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
22 Nov 82 to 30 Jun 83Wing Commander Omkar Nath6060 SIGSStn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
14 Dec 83 to 01 Sep 85Wing Commander Laxman Singh Solanki7905 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
02 Sep 85 to 11 Sep 88Group Captain Jai Ram Swarnakar7123 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
12 Sep 88 to 30 Apr 90Group Captain Sharanjit Singh7356 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
01 May 90 to 14 Feb 93Group Captain Vishwanath Atmaram Naik Desai7110 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
15 Feb 93 to 03 Feb 96Group Captain Praduman Singh9384 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
29 Mar 96 to 29 Mar 97Group Captain Ramakrishna Somnath10780 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
30 Jun 97 to 09 May 99Group Captain Walter Raymond11800 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
10 May 99 to 31 Oct 01Group Captain Tapas Kumar Ray11750 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
24 Nov 01 to 20 Jul 03Group Captain Anil Kumar Khosla13534 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
21 Jul 03 to 30 Dec 05Group Captain Shubhankar Purkayastha14144 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
31 Dec 05 to 11 Oct 07Group Captain Yeranilly Tirumala Vasudeo15804 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
12 Oct 07 to 25 Jun 09Group Captain Nenja Gowder Pathamathan16945 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)
26 Jun 09 to 22 May 11Group Captain Dharamlingam Gunasekharan17627 AE(L)Stn CdrAmer (Jaipur)

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.