No.66 Squadron

Date Raised : 1965-06-07 Location : Barrackpore
Raised as a SA-2 SAGW Unit at Rajokri from the assets of No. 15 training Sqn at Baroda and renamed as 66 Sqn. It was positioned at Dhansa till Sep 1977 but moved to Barrackpore in October 1977.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
09 Jun 65 to 06 Apr 67Wing Commander Minoo Shipurjee Mehta3592 GD(P)CODhansa (Delhi)
07 Apr 67 to 01 Mar 68Wing Commander M S MadanCODhansa (Delhi)
02 May 68 to 30 Dec 69Wing Commander Mahesh Chander Butalia4221 GD(P)CODhansa (Delhi)
31 Dec 69 to 14 Aug 72Wing Commander Manohar Madhav Takle4116 GD(N)CODhansa (Delhi)
15 Aug 72 to 02 Apr 74Wing Commander Sham Lal Bali4326 GD(N)CODhansa (Delhi)
03 Apr 74 to 10 Oct 77Wing Commander Chander Parkash Grover4763 GD(N)CODhansa (Delhi)
11 Oct 77 to 31 Mar 79Wing Commander Rama Prasad Mahanta4862 GD(N)CORaspunjh (Barrackpor
01 Apr 79 to 05 Jul 81Wing Commander Anil Kumar Ghosh6525 GD(P)CORaspunjh (Barrackpor
27 Jul 81 to 18 Jul 83Wing Commander Kamal Dev Bawa6491 GD(N)CORaspunjh (Barrackpor
18 Jul 83 to Wing Commander Ashok Misra6328 GD(N)CORaspunjh (Barrackpor
Unknown to Wing Commander Ram Autar Singh8688 GD(P)CORaspunjh (Barrackpor

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.