No.52 Squadron Sharks

Motto : Sadaiva Sarvottam
Date Raised : 1986-01-01 Location : Bidar
No. 52 Sqn AF, the youngest Squadron of the Indian Air Force, was formed on 01 Jan 86 at 16 Wing, Hashimara. Wg Cdr GM Viswanathan VM was the first Commanding Officer of "The Sharks" equipped with the T-77 ac. The primary role of the Squadron is Air defence and the secondary role is ground attack. However, during peace time the Squadron is given the additional responsibility of conducting MOFT syllabus of young pilots. The Sharks, during their short span of 12 years have gained appreciation for their professional approach and sound results. The Squadron has the distinction of winning the IF rolling trophy in its very first year of formation and continues to sustain its impressive performance.

The Squadron moved to Bagdogra during Jan 90 under the command of Wg Cdr AD Chibbar where it continued to perform its primary, secondary and peacetime role.

On 01 Nov 96 the Sqn moved to 14 Wing at Chabua. Number plated in June 2005, came back as Suryakirans (May 1, 2006) on the Kiran MK-II. It was again numberplated on 30 June 2011 and resurrected on the HAWKs in February 2015

 Read Detailed History
Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Jan 86 to 01 Nov 86Wing Commander Gopalasamudram Mahadevan Vishwanathan9056 F(P)COHashimara
01 Nov 86 to 17 Dec 88Wing Commander Prakash Prahalad Dani12214 F(P)COHashimara
18 Dec 88 to 19 Dec 90Wing Commander Ashok Dharam Chhibbar12118 F(P)COHasimara/Bagdogra
20 Dec 90 to 31 Oct 92Wing Commander Ranjit Kumar Bora12927 F(P)COBagdogra
01 Nov 92 to 01 Feb 95Wing Commander Debananda Gohain13388 F(P)COBagdogra
01 Feb 95 to 07 Nov 96Wing Commander Rajinder Singh13980 F(P)COBagdogra
08 Nov 96 to 06 Dec 98Wing Commander Suneet Shripad Soman14681 F(P)COChabua
07 Dec 98 to 01 Dec 00Wing Commander Shyam Bihari Prasad Sinha16053 F(P)COChabua
01 May 06 to 30 Mar 08Wing Commander Sandeep Bansal20438 F(P)CO

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.