51 Air Stores Park

Date Raised : 1966-05-01 Location : Digaru
Air Force Station Digaru is situated at a distance of 35 km South-East of Guwahati on NH-37 amidst the plains of the Brahmaputra Valley. In the wake of the Chinese aggression in 1962, a 'Forward supply Depot' (SD), an 'Explosive storage Park' (XSP) and a 'Mechanical Transport Repair & storage Units' (MIR & U) were established at Digaru during the period 1963-66. It became a full-fledged station in August 1969. This base Played a very vital supporting role in the 1971 operations. Air Force school was established out of the war Booty Fund in May 1982. An explosives Museum was established in 1986. in 1966 FSD was renamed as 51ASP and XSP as 52ASP. 51 and 52 ASP merged in 1977 and 52 ASP ceased to exist
Unit previously existed as FSD

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
05 Feb 64 to 11 Dec 64Wing Commander Palamadai Subbir Sankara Narayanan2668 EQPTCODigaru
15 Apr 65 to 22 Jul 65Wing Commander Sailesh Chandra Malakar3536 EQPTCODigaru
01 Aug 65 to 04 Jun 67Wing Commander Sunil Kumar Basack3502 EQPTCODigaru
05 Jun 67 to 05 May 68Wing Commander Madhakar Krishnarao Shirpurkar3764 EQPTCODigaru
06 May 68 to 02 Jul 70Wing Commander Nitai Lal Pramanik2793 A&SDCODigaru
01 Aug 70 to 30 Jun 72Wing Commander Shanker Govind Chitnis3763 EQPTCODigaru
01 Aug 72 to 08 Dec 73Wing Commander Rajendra Prasad Jaiswal3762 EQPTCODigaru
29 Jan 74 to 25 Jul 76Wing Commander Kailash Shanker4189 EQPTCODigaru
26 Jul 76 to 27 Aug 79Wing Commander Raminder Singh4457 EQPTCODigaru
28 Dec 79 to 29 Nov 81Wing Commander Chittaranjan5899 EQPTCODigaru
30 Nov 81 to 19 Jan 84Wing Commander Vinod Singh Rawat6043 EQPTCODigaru
20 Jan 84 to 17 Oct 85Group Captain Kilara Vamanet Iya5813 EQPTCODigaru
18 Oct 85 to 05 May 88Group Captain Rameshwar Dayal Vinayak5897 EQPTCODigaru
06 May 88 to 09 Sep 90Group Captain #N/ACODigaru
10 Sep 90 to 31 Oct 93Group Captain #N/ACODigaru
11 Apr 94 to 17 Mar 96Group Captain #N/ACODigaru
18 Mar 96 to 11 Oct 98Group Captain #N/ACODigaru
12 Oct 98 to 18 Jun 00Group Captain #N/ACODigaru
19 Jun 00 to 09 Feb 03Group Captain Arabida Mohanty13414 LGSCODigaru
10 Feb 03 to 13 Jul 05Group Captain Ved Mitra Upadhyay14055 LGSCODigaru
14 Jul 05 to 30 Sep 06Group Captain Paramasivan Murthy13679 LGSCODigaru
01 Oct 06 to 30 Jun 07Group Captain Kunnapully Mohamed Gaffar15000 F(N)CODigaru
01 Jul 07 to 10 May 09Group Captain Ashok Vardhan14973 LGSCODigaru
11 May 09 to 12 Jun 11Group Captain Sanjay Aneja17234 LGSCODigaru
13 Jun 11 to 05 May 13Group Captain Jagdish Kumar Raval18175 LGSCODigaru

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.