505 Signal Unit

Motto : Satatam Tatparah (Always Alert)
Date Raised : 1964-11-16 Location : Memaura (Lucknow)
505 SU was formed with the Star Sapphire radar in 1964. The Units acquired the THD-1955 and was redesignated as 65 SU on 21 Jan 1988 but reverted to 505 SU on 1 Sep 91

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
16 Nov 64 to 01 Jan 67Group Captain Surjit Singh Jaspal1808 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
02 Jan 67 to 29 Apr 71Group Captain Shanti Pada Dutta2000 GD(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
14 Jun 71 to 19 Jun 72Group Captain Shamrao Ramrao Powar3100 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
31 Jul 72 to 25 Aug 74Group Captain Jagdish Singh Wohra3943 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
26 Aug 74 to 31 May 76Group Captain Kishin Advani4003 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
01 Jun 76 to 20 Jun 77Group Captain Ramanathan Sundaresan4574 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
20 Jun 77 to 24 Aug 78Group Captain Mian Naranjan Singh4340 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
19 Oct 78 to 24 Aug 81Group Captain Krishna Chandra Misra4255 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
24 Aug 81 to 12 Oct 83Group Captain Mohan Dharamdas Lalvani5658 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
13 Oct 83 to 19 Sep 86Group Captain Janak Pratap Singh5672 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
25 Sep 86 to 08 Oct 88Group Captain Gopalasamudram Mahadevan Vishwanathan9056 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
12 Oct 88 to 31 Jul 90Group Captain Vishwabandhu Mehta9024 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
01 Aug 90 to 19 Jul 92Group Captain Krishna Balakrishna Menon9028 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
20 Jul 92 to 30 Nov 94Group Captain Hemant Sharat Kumar Sardesai9463 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
01 Dec 94 to 31 Mar 97Group Captain Randhir Pratap13146 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
01 Apr 97 to 14 May 99Group Captain Ajay Kumar Dudeja13595 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
29 May 99 to 31 Jul 00Group Captain Mukesh Bhandari13380 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
01 Aug 00 to 19 Apr 04Group Captain Ganpat Singh Rathore13611 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
19 Apr 04 to 15 Oct 06Group Captain Nalin Kumar Tandon16030 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
16 Oct 06 to 30 Jun 08Group Captain Rajeevan Thotten17168 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
07 Jul 08 to 04 Jan 09Group Captain Surat Singh18563 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
05 Jan 09 to 17 May 10Group Captain Sankaranarayana Chandrasekhar15717 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
23 May 11 to 05 May 13Group Captain Ajay Singh18096 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)
17 Mar 16 to 14 Jan 18Group Captain Malliyakel Joseph Augustine Vinoth21819 F(P)Stn CdrMemaura (Lucknow)

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.