501 Signal Unit Mad Bees

Motto : Satatam Tatparah (Always Alert)
Date Raised : 1964-10-25 Location : Barnala
Raised on 5 Oct 1964 at 9 Wing, AF, the Units shifted to Barnala in May 1965 operating the Star Sapphire radar. Converted to the THD radar in Jan 1981. The Units underwent renaming to 42 Signal Units in Sept 1982, and became to be known as MADBEES - for Master of Air Defence - Barnala. The Units reverted back to 501 SU in Sept 1991.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
05 Oct 64 to 30 Nov 64Wing Commander Satish Chand3555 SIGSStn CdrBarnala
01 Dec 64 to 28 Feb 65Group Captain John Dunbar Aquino1777 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
01 Mar 65 to 02 Apr 67Group Captain Churukara George Immanuel Phillip1927 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
03 Apr 67 to 15 Jun 69Group Captain Meghashyama Sadanand Dandekar3201 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
16 Aug 69 to 13 Jun 71Group Captain Bharat Singh3582 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
14 Jun 71 to 06 Jan 74Group Captain Kottavathukal Thomas Abraham3600 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
07 Jan 74 to 31 Aug 74Group Captain Kirpal Singh Sufi3952 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
01 Sep 74 to 25 May 76Group Captain Kanwal Krishan Malik4335 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
25 May 76 to 09 Apr 78Group Captain Gandharva Sen4429 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
10 Apr 78 to 01 Jan 81Group Captain Akbar Singh Bains4882 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
02 Jan 81 to 08 Jan 84Group Captain Om Prakash Sharma5104 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
09 Jan 84 to 30 Sep 86Group Captain Ravinder Kumar5315 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
01 Oct 86 to 14 Mar 88Group Captain Sitaramaiah Pingali7674 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
15 Mar 88 to 28 Apr 91Group Captain Subhash Chandra Rastogi8999 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
29 Apr 91 to 18 Apr 94Group Captain Jayachand Joseph Williams10188 GD(P)Stn CdrBarnala
18 Apr 94 to 05 Jan 97Group Captain P SinghStn CdrBarnala
06 Jan 97 to 31 Mar 99Group Captain Pradeep Sharma13777 F(P)Stn CdrBarnala
03 May 99 to 30 Nov 01Group Captain Ranjan Bhattacharya13139 F(P)Stn CdrBarnala
01 Dec 01 to 07 Aug 02Wing Commander S S RanaStn CdrBarnala
08 Aug 02 to 18 May 03Group Captain Rohit Verma16029 F(P)Stn CdrBarnala
19 May 03 to 09 Oct 04Group Captain P Kumar VSMStn CdrBarnala
16 Nov 04 to 15 Oct 06Group Captain Shirish Baban Deo15681 F(P)Stn CdrBarnala
16 Oct 06 to 02 Dec 07Group Captain Sardar Harpal Singh16071 F(P)Stn CdrBarnala
03 Dec 07 to 16 Aug 09Group Captain Dilip Kumar Patnaik17464 F(P)Stn CdrBarnala
24 Aug 09 to 19 Sep 11Group Captain Kirti Khajuria19538 F(P)Stn CdrBarnala
15 Apr 13 to 17 May 15Group Captain Manish Kumar Gupta20439 F(P)Stn CdrBarnala
22 May 17 to 21 Oct 18Group Captain Prasant Sarad Wadodkar20741 F(P)Stn CdrBarnala

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.