5 Tactical Air Center

Motto : Samvayi hi Durjayaha (Together we are invincible)
Date Raised : 1961-06-19 Location : Tezpur
5 TAC is attached to the Gajraj Corps and was raised at Kohima. It moved to Tezpur in 1962 and remains so till date. It had brief periods during 1971 war (Comilla) and IPKF ops (Vayunia and Batticoloa) where it moved out with the Corps for ops.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
19 Jun 61 to 28 Oct 62Group Captain Ramdas Shivram Shipurkar2177 GD(P)COTezpur
29 Oct 62 to 01 Aug 63Group Captain Anil Kanta Ganguly1677 GD(P)COTezpur
01 Aug 63 to 31 Jan 65Group Captain Arjan Singh Mangharam Bhawnani1868 F(P)COTezpur
01 Feb 65 to 01 Apr 67Group Captain Leslie Richard Dickinson Blunt1994 GD(P)COTezpur
23 Apr 67 to 26 Sep 67Group Captain Evans Lionel Birch3487 F(P)COTezpur
27 Sep 67 to 31 Oct 67Group Captain Rishab Chand Suchanti3466 F(N)COTezpur
01 Apr 68 to 01 Dec 69Group Captain Krishan Lal Suri2907 F(P)COTezpur
01 Dec 69 to 01 Jan 73Group Captain Rajagopalan Krishnamurthy3386 F(N)COTezpur
01 Jan 73 to 01 May 74Group Captain Samuel Venkatarao3830 F(N)COTezpur
01 May 74 to 31 Jul 76Group Captain Rama Iyer Krishnamoorti3828 F(N)COTezpur
01 Aug 76 to 30 Sep 79Group Captain Ram Sharan Gambhir4560 F(N)COTezpur
01 Dec 79 to 31 May 81Group Captain Hardip Singh Goraya4808 F(P)COTezpur
01 Nov 81 to 31 Jan 83Group Captain Muhamed Abdul Rehman5711 F(N)COTezpur
01 Feb 83 to 01 Mar 85Group Captain R VarmaCOTezpur
01 Mar 85 to 16 Nov 86Group Captain Raja Singh Dhanjal6341 F(P)COTezpur
01 Mar 87 to 01 Oct 89Group Captain Tejwant Singh7228 F(P)COTezpur
01 Oct 89 to 16 Mar 92Group Captain Balbinder Singh Marwaha9714 F(P)COTezpur
17 Mar 92 to 30 Jun 94Group Captain Vijay Kumar8386 F(P)COTezpur
01 Sep 94 to 01 Jun 97Group Captain Narendra Pratap Sahi12037 F(P)COTezpur
01 Jun 97 to 01 Jan 00Group Captain Ashok Kumar Malhotra14112 F(P)COTezpur
01 Jan 00 to 01 Nov 02Group Captain H S Arvind Kumar13157 F(P)COTezpur
01 Jan 03 to 01 Jul 04Group Captain Ranjit Kumar Bora12927 F(P)COTezpur
01 Jul 04 to 30 Apr 06Group Captain Sudhir Vishwamurti Bal15552 F(P)COTezpur
01 May 06 to 30 Apr 08Group Captain Kaushik Pathak15715 F(P)COTezpur
01 Jun 08 to 01 Mar 09Group Captain Umesh Kumar18582 F(P)COTezpur
01 Mar 09 to 01 Jun 10Group Captain Ashwin Keshav Puntambekar19210 F(P)COTezpur
01 Jul 12 to 01 May 14Group Captain Paramvir Bakshi19911 F(P)COTezpur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.