No.5 Squadron Tuskers

Motto : Shakti Vijayate ( Strength is Victory)
Date Raised : 1948-11-02 Location : Ambala
5 SQN AF, “TUSKERS”, was formed at Kanpur on 2nd November 1948, with B-24 Liberator Aircraft and its role was of a heavy bomber. On 01 Sep 1957, at Agra, the squadron was the first to be re-equipped with Canberra aircraft and the role was re-defined as Bomber/Interdictor squadron. In 1961, the squadron contributed a detachment to ONUC, the United Nations’ multinational force in the Congo where it represented the only long-range attack capability available to the UN. The squadron det conducted successful long-range counter air and counter surface force ops against the rebel airfields and ground forces, destroying a number of rebel aircraft and ground targets. For services in Congo, the squadron personnel won 2 Vr C, 5 VSM and Flt Lt P Gautam won his first medal, VM. In the 1965 war, the squadron raided Sargodha Airfield on the night of 6/7 September. On the night of 13/14 September the squadron carried out a particularly unexpected and unprecedented attack on the PAF base at Peshawar damaging the runway and BPIs. The squadron flew around 300 sorties during the war. These included counter air sorties by night and close air support to the Indian Army by day. For services during the 1965 war, the squadron personnel won 1 MVC, 4 VrC, 3 VSM and 14 M-in-D. The squadron was led into war for the third time in 1971 and as usual took its war deep into enemy country. The squadron again flew around 300 sorties striking targets in both fronts. For its services during the war, the personnel were awarded 01 MVC and 3 VrC. The squadron was awarded Presidents Standard on 09 Apr 1975 by Late Shri Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, the then President of India. In Aug 1981, the squadron was re-equipped with Jaguar and relocated to Ambala. In July 1988 the squadron participated in Operation Pawan, the Indian Peace-Keeping Force operation in Sri Lanka, in which it carried out long-range recce missions. The squadron also took part in Kargil operations by operating a det at Halwara. The chore of revamping Tuskers arsenal to “state of art” DARIN II variant commenced in Dec 05.
 Read Detailed History
Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
05 Nov 48 to 04 Apr 49Squadron Leader Jal Rustom Sorab Dantra2074 GD(O)COPune
22 Apr 49 to 13 Feb 51Wing Commander Himmat Singh Ravubha Gohel1705 GD(P)COPune
14 Feb 51 to 07 Aug 51Squadron Leader Madhukar Laxman Akut1752 GD(O)COPune
08 Aug 51 to 26 Sep 54Squadron Leader Ramdas Shivram Shipurkar2177 GD(P)COPune
04 Oct 54 to 30 Sep 55Wing Commander Ghansham Singh Tahilramani1749 GD(P)COPune
01 Oct 55 to 28 Feb 57Wing Commander Phiroz Mehta1715 GD(P)COPune
01 May 57 to 29 Jan 60Wing Commander Waman Raghunath Dani1807 GD(P)COAgra
29 Jan 60 to 27 Oct 62Wing Commander Anthony Ignatius Kenneth Suares2773 GD(P)COAgra
29 Oct 62 to 19 Mar 65Wing Commander Shamrao Ramrao Powar3100 GD(P)COAgra
20 Mar 65 to 25 Apr 67Wing Commander Prem Pal Singh3871 GD(P)COAgra
01 May 67 to 27 Oct 69Wing Commander Ashok Kumar4099 GD(P)COAgra
17 Nov 69 to 03 Dec 72Wing Commander Man Mohan Bir Singh Talwar4573 GD(P)COAgra
04 Dec 72 to 22 Jun 75Wing Commander Qaisar Ali4651 GD(P)COAgra
23 Jun 75 to 31 May 77Wing Commander Satish Chandra Jain5068 GD(P)COAgra
01 Jun 77 to 13 Apr 80Wing Commander Anil Kumar Bhadra5114 GD(P)COAgra
14 Apr 80 to 25 Jul 81Wing Commander Amarjit Singh Sethi5682 GD(P)COAgra
01 Aug 81 to 26 Dec 83Wing Commander Jogendra Singh Sisodia7696 GD(P)COAmbala
26 Dec 83 to 01 Oct 84Wing Commander Devanda Deviah Subji Kumar8969 GD(P)COAmbala
01 Oct 84 to 07 Jul 86Wing Commander Donovan Eric Jonas10131 GD(P)COAmbala
07 Jul 86 to 19 Dec 88Wing Commander Avdesh Kumar Singh11005 GD(P)COAmbala
19 Dec 88 to 03 Dec 90Wing Commander Deepak Purushottam Gokhale11589 GD(P)COAmbala
03 Dec 90 to 24 Jan 93Wing Commander Venkataraman Ramamurthy Iyer12939 F(P)COAmbala
25 Jan 93 to 29 Jan 95Wing Commander Lalit Kumar Malhotra13373 F(P)COAmbala
30 Jan 95 to 25 Mar 97Wing Commander Muthumanikam Matheswaran14104 F(P)COAmbala
25 Mar 97 to 02 May 99Wing Commander Davender Singh Jain15016 F(P)COAmbala
03 May 99 to 17 Jul 01Wing Commander Rakesh Kumar Singh Bhadauria16026 F(P)COAmbala
19 Jul 01 to 28 Jan 03Wing Commander Priyanath Mukhopadhyay16791 F(P)COAmbala
01 Feb 03 to 25 Apr 04Wing Commander Snehanshu Sarkar17164 F(P)COAmbala
26 May 04 to 14 May 06Wing Commander Tejinder Singh18806 F(P)COAmbala

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.