5 Mobile Echelon Maintenance Unit

Date Raised : 1970-01-12 Disbanded : 1972-08-06 Location : Sirsa
Air Force Station Sirsa was established in 1960. Situated on the banks of river Ghaggar, the Station was first designated as 10 C&MU (Care & Maintenance Units) under the command of Flt Lt Patrick, a logistics officer. The first aircraft to land at the airfield was a Dakota' on a runway made of PSP sheets. The concrete runway, PTT and the loops were constructed in 1963.0n 12 Jan 70, the station was redesignated as 5 MEMU (Mobile Echelon Maintenance Units). Two years later in Aug 72, the base was made a Forward Base Support Units and rechristened as 2 Forward Base Supporting Units (FBSU). The FBSU was upgraded in to a full fledged Wing in Apr 89.
Unit previously existed as 10 C&MU

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
12 Jan 70 to 15 Aug 71Squadron Leader Gurbakhash Rai Sahni5457 F(N)COSirsa
16 Aug 71 to 26 Jan 72Wing Commander Kanwal Krishan Malik4335 F(P)COSirsa
27 Jan 72 to 06 Apr 72Squadron Leader Gurbakhash Rai Sahni5457 F(N)COSirsa
07 Apr 72 to 06 Aug 72Squadron Leader Tejinder Singh Legha6333 F(N)COSirsa
Unit continued existence as 2 FBSU

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.