5 Forward Base Support Unit

Date Raised : 1972-06-08 Location : Uttarlai
The uttarlai station was setup by RAF in 1935 by acquiring 384 acres of land from the Marwar State. It had an airstrip to facilitate landing of two-seater propeller aircrafts. After independence the airfield was handed over the CPWD and occupied by IAF in 1950. Post the 1965 war it was decided to convert it to a base and a C&MU was formed. It was upgraded to an FBSU on 8 June 1972 and a full fledged AFS on 20 Dec 1993

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
Unknown to 01 Dec 71Wing Commander Vishwanatha Krishnamurthy4022 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
Unknown to 01 Dec 76Wing Commander Virendra Naidu4920 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
Unknown to Wing Commander Syed Shahid Hussain Naqvi7193 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
01 Jan 79 to 01 Feb 81Wing Commander Jawahar Lal Bhargava7209 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
01 Feb 81 to 21 Jul 82Wing Commander Ashley Malcolm Rodriques8186 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
22 Jul 82 to 09 Aug 85Wing Commander Rajinder Mohan Singh Datta8711 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
10 Aug 85 to 30 Sep 87Group Captain Manbir Singh6771 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
01 Oct 87 to 28 Mar 90Group Captain Baldhir Singh Ghumman8170 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
29 Mar 90 to 20 Apr 92Group Captain James Arun Benjamin11296 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
21 Apr 92 to 10 Jul 94Group Captain Avinash Deodata Joshi10886 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
11 Jul 94 to 08 Mar 96Group Captain Ramesh Vishwanath Phadke10895 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
09 Mar 96 to Group Captain Shah Baig Singh Paul11857 GD(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
12 May 97 to 05 Jun 00Group Captain Ajay Shrivniwas Karnik13140 F(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
06 Jun 00 to 29 Nov 11Group Captain Randhir Pratap13146 F(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
01 Dec 01 to 06 Aug 03Group Captain Sanjay Dandapani14690 F(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
07 Aug 03 to 31 Mar 05Group Captain Amit Aneja14668 F(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
21 Jun 05 to 26 Nov 06Group Captain Nirmal Singh Jamwal17156 F(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
27 Nov 06 to 31 Jul 07Group Captain Suraj Kumar Jha17445 F(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
01 Aug 07 to 05 Jul 09Group Captain Richard John Duckworth17136 F(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
06 Jul 09 to 21 Nov 10Group Captain Narmdeshwar Tiwari18270 F(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
22 Nov 10 to 20 May 12Group Captain Hilal Ahmed Rather19863 F(P)Stn CdrUttarlai
21 May 12 to 02 Jun 14Group Captain #N/AStn CdrUttarlai
02 Jun 14 to 01 Jan 17Air Commodore Man Singh Awana19153 F(P)AOCUttarlai
17 Dec 18 to Air Commodore Seethepalli Shrinivas18787 F(P)AOCUttarlai

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.