5 Base Repair Depot

Date Raised : 1966-04-01 Location : Sulur
Sulur was a transit base during 1940-42 for the Allied forces. In 1945 it was a operational base for RAF and in 1947 INS Hansa was established by Indian navy for Sea hawks. IAF took possession of Sulur base in Nov 56 and established a Care and Maintenance Units . Within a year i.e. 1957, it was re-designated as Aircraft Storage Depot. The initial commitment of Aircraft Storage Depot was to store Harvards, Texans and Vampires. Subsequently Dakotas, and Canberras also found shelter at this Depot. During this period i.e. in 1964, one large hanger and billets for SNCOs and airmen were added. In Apr 66, this storage depot metamorphasized into the present 5 BRD with additional tasks and commitments. 33 ED was also established at the base in 1967. Apart from the already existing storage functions, the depot undertook the task of repairing and overhauling of Gnats and its rotables. Currently the BRD conduct servicing of Avro ac, repair and calibration of testers and MATCAL (Mobile Calibration). In 2017 it was given the task of overhaul, LRU, Aero engine and structural repairs of modern trainer aircraft
Unit previously existed as ASD

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Apr 66 to 21 Apr 67Wing Commander Kenneth Hubert Larkins3511 F(P)COSulur
22 Apr 67 to 01 Mar 68Wing Commander Naduvil Kouvilakath Ramavarma3578 GD(P)COSulur
18 Jun 68 to 13 Feb 69Wing Commander Jag Mohan Nath3946 GD(P)COSulur
14 Feb 69 to 11 Jul 70Wing Commander Jagdish Chandra Sengupta3657 F(P)COSulur
25 Jul 70 to 04 Feb 73Wing Commander Subhash Chander Virmani4097 F(P)COSulur
05 Feb 73 to 18 Jul 75Group Captain Willie Raj3496 ENGCOSulur
19 Jul 75 to 27 Jun 76Group Captain Kulwant Rai3770 ENGCOSulur
28 Jun 76 to 23 Dec 79Group Captain Dinesh Chandra Chatterjee4274 ARMTCOSulur
24 Dec 79 to 05 Oct 80Group Captain Surendra Nath Tyagi4517 ENGCOSulur
03 Nov 80 to 27 Jul 81Group Captain Prabhakar Mukundrao Achalkar5403 ENGCOSulur
28 Jul 81 to 20 Aug 82Group Captain Shashikumar Samuel Ramdas4930 AE(M)COSulur
21 Aug 82 to 14 Jan 85Group Captain Kunnathidathil Sanjeevan5615 ENGCOSulur
14 Jan 85 to 28 Jun 88Air Commodore Kailash Chander Kapoor5409 AE(L)AOCSulur
21 Jul 88 to 03 Aug 90Air Commodore Kuldip Raj Lamba6242 ENGAOCSulur
03 Aug 90 to 30 Nov 92Air Commodore Jagatjit Singh Ahluwalia6282 AE(M)AOCSulur
01 Dec 92 to 25 Nov 94Air Commodore Arun Kumar Saraswat6563 AE(M)AOCSulur
25 Nov 94 to 29 Jun 97Air Commodore Satinder Singh Dhillon7980 AE(M)AOCSulur
29 Jun 97 to 12 Sep 99Air Commodore Raj Gopal10797 AE(L)AOCSulur
13 Sep 99 to 11 Jun 02Air Commodore Subhanka Sekhar Lahiri11568 AE(L)AOCSulur
12 Jun 02 to 06 Mar 05Air Commodore Keshava Murthy Rama Sundara12833 AE(L)AOCSulur
07 Mar 05 to 25 Mar 07Air Commodore Chinnabhandar Narasingara Ranganath13471 AE(L)AOCSulur
26 Mar 07 to 06 Jun 09Air Commodore Prakash Kumar Srivastava14160 AE(L)AOCSulur
06 Jun 09 to 31 Dec 10Air Commodore Vireshwar Dundappa Galagali15272 AE(L)AOCSulur
01 Jan 11 to 30 Jun 12Air Commodore Sant Parshad Yadav15840 AE(M)AOCSulur
01 Jul 12 to 31 Dec 13Air Commodore Shashiker Choudhary17645 AE(M)AOCSulur
01 Jan 14 to 30 Sep 15Air Commodore Malipeddi Surender Reddy17297 AE(L)AOCSulur
01 Oct 15 to 14 Dec 17Air Commodore Gunmedi Sahed Phani Nandiswara Chowdary18521 AE(L)AOCSulur
15 Dec 17 to 30 Sep 18Air Commodore Vijay Kumar Garg18493 AE(M)AOCSulur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.