No.48 Squadron Camels

Motto : Sahasa phalit Sarvetrah (Courageous Always Succeed)
Date Raised : 1959-11-15 Location : Chandigarh
N0. 48 Sqn, AF was raised on 19 Nov 1959, at Barrackpore and has served in all operational commands of the Indian Air Force. The Sqn has operated Dakotas, Packetts, and AN-32 aircraft. The Dakotas of the Units were the aerial lifeline in NEFA till they were eventually replaced by the Packett aircraft. The squadron was re-equipped with the AN-32 aircraft and moved to its present location, Chandigarh in May 1986. Since then it has formed an aerial bridge for the Indian Forces in J&K sector across the Himalayan Ranges.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
05 Feb 60 to 16 Jun 61Squadron Leader Surjit Singh Jaspal1808 GD(P)COBarrackpore
17 Jun 61 to 23 Jan 62Squadron Leader Kaup Mohandas Kamath3656 GD(P)COBarrackpore
24 Jan 62 to 27 Apr 64Wing Commander Harish Chander Sahgal3024 GD(P)COBarrackpore
28 Apr 64 to 28 Feb 66Wing Commander Kaup Mohandas Kamath3656 GD(P)COBarrackpore
01 Mar 66 to 06 Nov 66Wing Commander Balwant Wickram Chauhan3352 GD(P)COBarrackpore
07 Nov 66 to 25 Dec 68Wing Commander Kishin Advani4003 GD(P)COBarrackpore
26 Dec 68 to 28 Dec 71Wing Commander Arjan Dev Ralli4027 GD(P)COBarrackpore
29 Dec 71 to 07 Feb 74Wing Commander Rajaram Jayaram Ambegaonkar4622 GD(P)COBarrackpore
08 Feb 74 to 08 Feb 76Wing Commander Indu Virmani4682 GD(P)COBarrackpore
09 Feb 76 to 14 Dec 77Wing Commander Sudesh Kumar Kapur4880 GD(P)COBarrackpore
15 Dec 77 to 09 Dec 79Wing Commander Krishnan Narayan Nair6346 GD(P)COBarrackpore
10 Dec 79 to 26 Oct 80Wing Commander Kota Sarvotham Karanath6534 GD(P)COBarrackpore
27 Oct 80 to 24 Oct 83Group Captain Om Kumar Chhabra5675 GD(P)COBarrackpore
25 Oct 83 to 18 Aug 85Group Captain Harwant Bir Singh5065 GD(P)COBarrackpore
14 Oct 85 to 31 Aug 87Group Captain Harbinder Singh Sidhu7682 GD(P)COBarrackpore/ Chandig
01 Sep 87 to 22 Oct 89Group Captain Puzhankara Ambalavattam Hari Mohan9723 GD(P)COChandigarh
23 Oct 89 to 19 Jun 92Group Captain Sajal Kumar Dutt10106 GD(P)COChandigarh
29 Jun 92 to 26 Feb 96Group Captain Praveen Chander Chopra10883 GD(P)COChandigarh
01 Mar 96 to 26 Jul 98Group Captain Nataraj Paul13601 F(P)COChandigarh
27 Jul 98 to 19 Aug 01Group Captain Mrinal Kanti Devnath13792 F(P)COChandigarh
20 Aug 01 to 06 Jul 03Group Captain Mukund Vedavyas Achar15052 F(P)COChandigarh
07 Jul 03 to 13 Nov 05Group Captain Rajeev Sachdeva16582 F(P)COChandigarh
14 Nov 05 to 01 Jan 08Group Captain Parag Sharma17009 F(P)COChandigarh
02 Jan 08 to 17 Nov 09Group Captain Suryakant Chintaman Chafekar17013 F(P)COChandigarh
18 Nov 09 to 22 Jun 11Group Captain Shivkumar Srinivasan19520 F(P)COChandigarh
23 Jun 11 to 02 Jun 13Group Captain Vijay Kumar20508 F(P)COChandigarh
03 Jun 13 to 19 Aug 15Group Captain Amitabh Bhalla21006 F(P)COChandigarh

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.