46 Wing

Date Raised : 1989-04-17 Location : Nal (Bikaner)
Air Force Station, Nal has a cherished and eventful history. A kutcha runway was constructed by the end of 1942 and occupied by the British. After the 2nd World War the airfield was vacated by the British and taken over by state PW D. From Sep 1942 till Sep 1950 the royal family of Bikaner operated a flying club at this base. Maharaja Ganga Singhji, Maharaja Sadul Singhji and Maharaja Karni Singhji took keen interest in the formation and development of the airfield. In Sep 1950 the airfield was handed over to IAF and a new runway was constructed in 1963. Nal became a full-fledged airfield and was named No. 9 Care & Maintenance Units (C&MU). In Jul 1972, it was renamed as No. 3 Forward Base Support Units (FBSU). Subsequently, on 17 April 1989 the airfield was named as 46 Wing
Unit previously existed as 3 FBSU

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
Unknown to Group Captain Apram Jeet Singh7403 GD(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
Unknown to 01 Dec 88Group Captain Mahendra Vir Singh6769 GD(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
01 Jan 89 to 01 Jan 90Group Captain Eapen Mathulla8365 GD(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
Unknown to Group Captain Kamlesh Singh Mandla9827 GD(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
Unknown to Group Captain Pramod Kumar Mehra11581 GD(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
Unknown to 22 Jul 98Group Captain Mukundan Sushil Kumar12502 GD(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
23 Jul 98 to 30 Nov 00Group Captain Sumit Mukerji12925 F(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
01 Dec 00 to 01 Jul 03Group Captain Shankar Mani13596 F(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
Unknown to Group Captain Mathappan Jose14278 F(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
Unknown to Group Captain Rohit Verma16029 F(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
01 Jan 08 to Group Captain Kalianda Appaya Muthana16372 F(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
Unknown to Group Captain Rajesh Abhishek Rao Kaileti18577 F(P)Stn CdrNal (Bikaner)
23 May 11 to 03 Jan 13Air Commodore Subramanian Sundar Rajan17848 F(P)AOCNal (Bikaner)
04 Jan 13 to 18 May 15Air Commodore Sanjay Bhatnagar17363 F(P)AOCNal (Bikaner)
18 May 15 to 03 Jul 17Air Commodore Sameer Mehra19524 F(P)AOCNal (Bikaner)
03 Jul 17 to 06 Jan 19Air Commodore Rajat Mohan20476 F(P)AOCNal (Bikaner)

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.