AFS Tambaram

Location : Tambaram (Chennai)
The Air Force Station is one of the oldest stations of the Indian Air Force dating back to the days of World War-II when Royal Naval Air Station was carved out of an American Naval Base. In 1947, it was rechristened as Royal Indian Air Force Station, Tambaram with No.2 Ground Training School. On January 26, 1950, the station was renamed No 2 GTS, Air Force Station Tambaram. An important chapter in the history was the addition of Flying Instructors' School on October 10, 1954. Finally, in 1963 the station was established as Air Force Station, Tambaram with FIS and No 2 GTS as its lodger Unitss. Group Captain Norman Alexander Tait, OBE was the first Commanding Officer of the Station, which also has the distinction of being commanded by a former Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal (then Group Captain) O P Mehra from 1950 to 1953. In 1980, the station was upgraded and Air Commodore B L Verma became the first AOC.
Unit previously existed as 1 GTS

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
14 Aug 62 to 08 Oct 64Group Captain Tekchand Gopaldas Kelly1753 GD(O)Stn CdrChennai
08 Oct 64 to 31 Mar 68Group Captain Jagbir Singh Bolarya1663 GD(O)Stn CdrChennai
31 Mar 68 to 29 Dec 70Group Captain Harbinder Singh Bedi3324 F(P)Stn CdrChennai
29 Dec 70 to 07 Jan 74Group Captain Polisetti Sivaji Gupta3832 F(N)Stn CdrChennai
07 Jan 74 to 28 Jan 77Group Captain Bangshi Dhar Bargohain4111 F(N)Stn CdrChennai
28 Jan 77 to 18 Mar 79Group Captain Bharat Lal Verma4206 F(N)Stn CdrChennai
19 Mar 79 to 30 Dec 80Air Commodore Bharat Lal Verma4206 F(N)AOCChennai
30 Dec 80 to 06 Jan 82Air Commodore Krishnaswamy Subramanian4213 F(N)AOCChennai
06 Jan 82 to 09 Jan 84Air Commodore Mohan Chandra4889 F(P)AOCChennai
09 Jan 84 to 26 Mar 85Air Commodore Mangatil Karakad Chandrasekhar4720 F(P)AOCChennai
26 Mar 85 to 29 Dec 86Air Commodore Hamid Muhammed Shahul5461 F(N)AOCChennai
29 Dec 86 to 12 Sep 88Air Commodore Surinder Pal Dhawan5298 F(N)AOCChennai
12 Sep 88 to 28 Feb 89Air Commodore Sadanand Kulkarni5292 F(N)AOCChennai
06 Mar 89 to 31 Jul 91Air Commodore Shashikant Bhise5924 F(N)AOCChennai
09 Sep 91 to 20 Jan 94Air Commodore Ramesh Singh Sehgal6792 F(N)AOCChennai
20 Jan 94 to 16 Jan 96Air Commodore Harkirat Manmohan Singh8482 F(N)AOCChennai
16 Jan 96 to 20 Dec 98Air Commodore Prakash Narayandas Devy8745 F(P)AOCChennai
20 Dec 98 to 31 May 01Air Commodore Kuldeep Singh Sahota9848 F(P)AOCChennai
01 Oct 01 to 16 Oct 02Air Commodore Satish Kumar Sofat12207 F(P)AOCChennai
17 Oct 02 to 02 Jan 04Air Commodore Mohinder Pal Singh Gill13604 F(P)AOCChennai
02 Jan 04 to 15 Nov 04Air Commodore Sapan Kumar Karmaker13379 F(P)AOCChennai
16 Nov 04 to 29 Apr 07Air Commodore Malvinder Singh Ahluwalia13809 F(P)AOCChennai
30 Apr 07 to 28 Dec 08Air Commodore Tarun Kumar Varma14273 F(P)AOCChennai
29 Dec 08 to 10 Jan 10Air Commodore Ashok Lal16031 F(P)AOCChennai
11 Jan 10 to 21 Sep 11Air Commodore Sanjay Sharma16227 F(P)AOCChennai
22 Sep 11 to 29 Dec 13Air Commodore Sreekumar Prabhakaran17318 F(P)AOCChennai
17 Jul 16 to 02 Jan 18Air Commodore Seethepalli Shrinivas18787 F(P)AOCChennai
03 Jan 18 to Air Commodore Man Singh Awana19153 F(P)AOCChennai

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.