41 Wing

Date Raised : 1984-01-12 Location : Jaisalmer
The imperatives of 1965 war influenced the country to fill the void in the defences in Rajasthan sector and thus came the airfield at Jaisalmer in 1970. Started as No. 14 Care and Maintenance Units. After the 1971 war it was decided to upgrade the airfield and 4 FBSU came into existence on 7 Aug 1972 which was placed under the functional control of 32 Wing, Jodhpur. Initial role was to provide staging facilities to fighter and bomber aircraft. Subsequently in 1979, Armament Training Camp was setup to exploit the Pokhran range in the vicinity. The station was designated to function as provision for flying facilities by day and night for visiting detachments for Air to Ground firing at the Range. 3 AFRU was setup in 1982. The base was reassigned later as 41 Wing Air Force on 12 Jan 1984.
Unit previously existed as 4 FBSU

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Mar 84 to 13 Oct 85Group Captain Vishnu Narain Johri5676 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
14 Oct 85 to 07 Oct 87Group Captain Amariit Singh Sandhu7703 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
04 Jan 87 to 03 Jan 90Group Captain Pradip Kantilal Gandhi8142 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
04 Jan 90 to 22 Dec 91Group Captain Balakrishna Menon11307 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
23 Dec 91 to 16 Dec 93Group Captain Narendra Minocha9513 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
17 Dec 93 to 19 Sep 95Group Captain Ashok Kumar Brahmawar10889 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
20 Sep 95 to 21 Dec 97Group Captain Saravjit Singh Hothi12215 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
12 Jan 98 to 31 Jan 00Group Captain Keshav Gopal Bewoor13570 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
01 Feb 00 to 18 Nov 01Group Captain Rakesh Kumar Jolly14083 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
19 Nov 01 to 31 Jul 03Group Captain Jasvinder Chauhan14079 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
01 Aug 03 to 20 Apr 05Group Captain Sandip Sud15685 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
21 Apr 05 to 31 Oct 06Group Captain Anil Khosla15871 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
01 Nov 06 to 20 Apr 08Group Captain Mohan Kumar Rao17343 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
21 Apr 08 to 02 May 10Group Captain Prasad V Gadgil18093 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
03 May 10 to 10 Apr 11Group Captain Rajiva Ranjan18810 F(P)Stn CdrJaisalmer
11 Apr 11 to 14 May 13Air Commodore Sudhanshu Rath15726 F(P)AOCJaisalmer
15 May 13 to 31 Aug 15Air Commodore Chandramouli16984 F(P)AOCJaisalmer

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.