AFS Sambra

Location : Belgaum
Belgaum camp along with an airstrip was built in the early 1940s. No 672 Squadron of the Royal Air Force was active at Sambra Base during World War II from February 26 to 30, 1945. The squadron was moved to Sambra to use it for airborne operations by South East Asia Command. In 1948, Belgaum base camp was taken over by the Special Reserve Police of Karnataka. In 1961, a detachment landed at this base to carry out specific operations for Goa liberation. Sambra was taken over by IAF when No 1 GTS, located at Jalahalli, was shifted to Sambra in 1963. On 15 Dec 2001, ATI shifted back to Tambaran and the station was renamed as Airmen Training School (ATS). It was reassigned the task of conducting Joint Basic Phase Training (JBPT). The station was renamed as 405 AFS Sambra but continued to be addressed as ATS. ATS now has two training wing – ATS (Now called Basic Training Institute (BTI) and NTTI. In addition Air Force School of Physical Fitness and 253 SU are also lodger Units

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Jan 72 to 04 Aug 74Wing Commander Shri Krishna Chandra Gupta3568 A&SDStn CdrBelgaum
05 Aug 74 to 06 Jun 76Group Captain Amrik Singh Ahluwalia4778 GD(N)Stn CdrBelgaum
Unknown to 01 Apr 78Wing Commander William George Beddoe4686 GD(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Apr 78 to 31 Aug 79Wing Commander Virendra Naidu4920 GD(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Oct 79 to 01 Oct 80Wing Commander Om Prakash Taneja5510 A&SDStn CdrBelgaum
27 Oct 80 to 01 Nov 83Group Captain Arun Kumar Bahl5330 GD(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Mar 84 to 01 Jun 85Group Captain Krishnan Narayan Nair6346 GD(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Jun 85 to 01 Oct 86Group Captain Deepak Anand5588 GD(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Oct 86 to 01 May 87Group Captain Anand Sakharam Gangoli7435 GD(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Jun 87 to 01 Oct 89Group Captain Shyam Sunder Singh Chauhan8780 GD(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Oct 89 to 01 Apr 92Group Captain Ashley Malcolm Rodriques8186 GD(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 May 92 to 01 Jul 94Group Captain Servio Cristo Fernandes11363 GD(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Jul 94 to 31 Dec 96Group Captain Rajkumar Joseph Williams9036 GD(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Jan 97 to 01 Mar 00Group Captain Conrad Anthony Dalton12430 GD(N)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Apr 00 to 31 Aug 02Group Captain Ravinder Singh Raghav13142 F(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
31 Aug 02 to 01 Jul 05Group Captain Sudhir Kumar Sinha14084 F(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Jul 05 to 01 Jul 08Group Captain Kumar Krishnachandrasinghji Gohil14688 F(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
07 Jul 08 to 01 Nov 09Group Captain Kulkarni Raghavendra17161 F(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 Nov 09 to 24 Apr 12Group Captain Joseph Vithayathil Paul17165 F(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
01 May 12 to 01 Aug 14Group Captain Stanzin Thenless19970 F(P)Stn CdrBelgaum
27 Jun 17 to 01 Jul 18Air Commodore Arun Bhaskar Gupta18121 F(P)AOCBelgaum
01 Aug 18 to Air Commodore Ramamoorthy Ravi Shankar20152 F(P)AOCBelgaum

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.