AFS Chakeri

Date Raised : 1947-08-15 Location : Kanpur
To support air operations in the Far East during World War II, No. 322 Maintenance Units was formed in 1940 in the 21 TATA hangers at Chakeri, Kanpur. The functions included arming of bombers and fighter aircraft like Liberator, Lancaster, Hurricane, Tempest and Dakota. The Units was further expanded to include aircraft storage and servicing activities, while the logistics support and aeroengine storage functions operated at Armapur Estate, 25 Km away from Chakeri. In August 1945, after Japan surrendered to the Allied Forces and hostilities came to an end, this No. 322 Maintenance Units was disbanded and Royal Air Force Station, Kanpur came into formal existence. On 15 August 1947, the historic day of India’s Independence, Wing Commander Ranjan Dutta DFC took over the command of Air Force Station, Kanpur from the Royal Air Force.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
09 Jan 64 to 21 Aug 65Air Commodore Narinjan Parsad Nair2280 ENGAOCKanpur
22 Aug 65 to 28 Feb 66Air Commodore Kanianthra Alexander Joseph2960 SIGSAOCKanpur
06 May 66 to 31 Mar 68Air Commodore Ardeshir Pestonji Kapadia2150 A&SDAOCKanpur
01 Apr 68 to 01 Dec 69Air Commodore Raj Kumar Singh Marya2916 ENGAOCKanpur
01 Dec 69 to 21 Nov 70Air Commodore John Jasper Bouche2938 GD(P)AOCKanpur
21 Nov 70 to 27 Jan 73Air Commodore Chandrakant Shridhar Naik3499 ENGAOCKanpur
27 Jan 73 to 09 Apr 74Air Commodore Bawa Sampuran Singh Bedi1795 GD(O)AOCKanpur
09 Apr 74 to 31 Jan 76Air Commodore Sat Pal Singh2853 SIGSAOCKanpur
24 May 78 to 31 Aug 80Air Commodore Kanwar Krishan Bali3816 ELECTAOCKanpur
01 Sep 80 to 13 Aug 81Air Commodore Narayanan Krishnan Nair4075 ELECTAOCKanpur
14 Aug 81 to 28 Feb 83Air Commodore Bangalore Venkataramaiah Jayarao4138 SIGSAOCKanpur
01 Mar 83 to 30 Jun 85Air Commodore Abraham Mathews4547 SIGSAOCKanpur
01 Jul 85 to 01 Jan 87Air Commodore Amal Kumar Mukhopadhyay5237 ENGAOCKanpur
02 Jan 87 to 12 Jan 89Air Commodore Rajamani Ramamurthy5614 ENGAOCKanpur
12 Jan 89 to 31 May 90Air Commodore Ramesh Chandra Bajpai5967 SIGSAOCKanpur
11 Aug 90 to 12 Sep 92Air Commodore Amar Jeet Singh Sodhi6388 ENGAOCKanpur
12 Sep 92 to 28 Oct 94Air Commodore Savinder Mohan Singh Chadha6588 ARMTAOCKanpur
28 Nov 94 to 27 Jul 96Air Commodore Koyippillil Balagangadhara Kurup8020 ENGAOCKanpur
16 Aug 96 to 15 Apr 99Air Commodore Prakashchandra Khandubhai Desai10078 ARMTAOCKanpur
18 Apr 99 to 31 Jul 00Air Commodore Satyendra Pal Singh10699 SIGSAOCKanpur
14 Aug 00 to 11 Nov 02Air Commodore Jayant Satchidanand Apte11900 AE(L)AOCKanpur
11 Nov 02 to 13 Jan 05Air Commodore Raghbir Singh Sandhu13174 AE(M)AOCKanpur
13 Jan 05 to 23 Jul 06Air Commodore Navin Verma13282 AE(L)AOCKanpur
24 Jul 06 to 31 May 09Air Commodore Narinder Kumar Bhoan14312 AE(L)AOCKanpur
01 Jun 09 to 30 Apr 11Air Commodore Prashant Purushottam Khandekar15095 AE(L)AOCKanpur
02 May 11 to 31 May 13Air Commodore Gulshan Rai15969 AE(M)AOCKanpur
01 Jun 13 to 19 Oct 14Air Commodore Krishna Iyengar Ravi17674 AE(M)AOCKanpur
20 Oct 14 to 31 Aug 16Air Commodore Pradeep Kumar Choudhary17828 AE(M)AOCKanpur
01 Sep 16 to 09 Nov 18Air Commodore Bhavishyat Narendra Kumar18729 AE(M)AOCKanpur
12 Nov 18 to Air Commodore Devarajan Bala Murali18520 AE(M)AOCKanpur
Unknown to Air Commodore Bhavishyat Narendra Kumar18729 AE(M)AOCKanpur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.