No.37 Squadron Black Panthers

Motto : Sadaiv Nirbhik (Fearless Forever)
Date Raised : 1957-12-23 Disbanded : 2019-12-27
37 Squadron of the Indian Air Force was formed on 23 Dec 57 at Air Force Station Palam with the motto "Forever Fearless", and was alloted the crest BLACK PANTHERS.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
23 Dec 57 to 16 Oct 60Squadron Leader Amrit Lal Bajaj3395 GD(P)COPalam/ Jamnagar
17 Oct 60 to 23 Aug 62Squadron Leader Ian Steele Loughran4024 GD(P)COPune
19 Nov 62 to 21 Dec 64Wing Commander Wilbur Desmond McNeill2995 GD(P)COPune/ Chabua
21 Dec 64 to 25 Aug 67Wing Commander Harendra Narain Bysak3857 GD(P)COChabua/ Tezpur
25 Aug 67 to 16 Oct 69Wing Commander Man Mohan Sinha4408 GD(P)COTezpur
24 Nov 69 to 02 Dec 70Wing Commander Prabhakar Jaywant Jakatdar4237 GD(P)COTezpur
01 Apr 71 to 14 Dec 73Wing Commander Swaroop Krishna Kaul4721 GD(P)COTezpur/ Kalaikunda
15 Dec 73 to 14 Jul 76Wing Commander Sudershan Kumar Sahni4599 GD(P)COKalaikunda
15 Jul 76 to 06 May 79Wing Commander Dhan Singh Nagi5305 GD(P)COKaliakinda/ Adampur
07 May 79 to 04 Jan 81Wing Commander Kanwer Jit Singh Gill5702 GD(P)COAdampur
05 Jan 81 to 11 Apr 83Wing Commander Amalendra Nath Sen8395 GD(P)COAdampur
12 Apr 83 to 30 Jun 85Wing Commander Amitava Chakladar8132 GD(P)COChandigarh
01 Jul 85 to 21 Sep 87Wing Commander Mohan Dikshit11309 GD(P)CONal (Bikaner)
22 Sep 87 to 16 Nov 88Wing Commander Kalathil Payan Sreekanth10508 GD(P)CONal (Bikaner)
05 Dec 88 to 30 Sep 90Wing Commander Pradeep Saruotham Shetty11650 GD(P)CONal (Bikaner)
01 Oct 90 to 01 Nov 92Wing Commander Rakesh Kacker12951 F(P)CONal (Bikaner)
02 Nov 92 to 08 Jan 95Wing Commander Philip Mohan Mathai13244 F(P)CONal (Bikaner)
09 Jan 95 to 17 Nov 96Wing Commander Joseph Noronha13914 F(P)CONal (Bikaner)
18 Nov 96 to 22 Mar 98Wing Commander Malvider Singh Mander15034 F(P)CONal (Bikaner)
23 Mar 98 to 28 May 00Wing Commander Dinesh Dhawan15403 F(P)CONal (Bikaner)
29 May 00 to 14 Jul 02Wing Commander Navkaranjit Singh Dhillon16580 F(P)CONal (Bikaner)
15 Jul 02 to 21 Jul 04Wing Commander Vishwas Gaur17361 F(P)CONal (Bikaner)/ Bhuj
22 Jul 04 to 02 Jul 06Wing Commander Rajesh Abhishek Rao Kaileti18577 F(P)COBhuj
03 Jul 06 to 18 May 08Wing Commander Prashant Mohan20160 F(P)COBhuj
19 May 08 to 30 May 10Wing Commander Anil Kumar20742 F(P)COBhuj/ Uttarlai

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.