No.33 Squadron Himalayan Geese

Motto : Shramo Dadati Siddim ( Through hardwork comes Glory)
Date Raised : 1963-01-09
No.33 Squadron was raised in January 1963 on the newly inducted DHC-4 Caribou - a Short Take Off and Landing aircraft manufactured by Canada. The Squadron was the sole operator of the type and extensively operated in the Advanced Landing grounds and forward airfields of the North East as well as Northern India. The Squadron took part in operations in the 1971 wars, even carrying out nuisance bombing over Dacca. The Squadron traded the Caribous for An-32s in late 89 and has been operating under SAC ever since. 19 Sqn was merged with 33 Sqn as well.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
09 Jan 63 to 09 May 65Wing Commander John Charles Plomer3299 GD(P)COGuwahati
10 May 65 to 31 Mar 67Wing Commander Vishnu Pratap Singh Chauhan3875 F(P)COGuwahati
01 Apr 67 to 26 Jan 69Wing Commander Chaman Lal Gupta4227 GD(P)COGuwahati
27 Jan 69 to 30 Nov 72Wing Commander Suresh Sitaram Sane4501 F(P)COGuwahati
01 Dec 72 to 29 Dec 74Wing Commander Kashi Nath Johry4834 F(P)COGuwahati
30 Dec 74 to 07 Feb 77Wing Commander Gurdip Singh Bakshi4999 F(P)COGuwahati
08 Feb 77 to 13 Jan 80Wing Commander Samarendra Chakravarty5189 F(P)COGuwahati
14 Jan 80 to 20 Dec 81Wing Commander Jogendra Chandra Hazarika5869 F(P)COGuwahati
21 Dec 81 to 17 Oct 83Wing Commander Narindar Pal Singh Sahota6151 F(P)COGuwahati
18 Oct 83 to 16 Dec 84Wing Commander Dinesh Chander Bhardwaj9545 F(P)COGuwahati
17 Dec 84 to 13 Oct 85Group Captain Gopal Krishan Mehta6752 F(P)COGuwahati
14 Oct 85 to 10 Oct 86Group Captain Jogendra Chandra Hazarika5869 F(P)COGuwahati
20 Oct 86 to 18 Oct 88Group Captain Hardish Singh Sodhi9000 F(P)COGuwahati
19 Oct 88 to 09 Jun 91Group Captain Druba Jyoti Sarma9822 F(P)COSulur
10 Jun 91 to 31 Jul 92Group Captain Kuttippuzha Joseph Mathew10894 F(P)COSulur
27 Mar 00 to 01 Sep 00Wing Commander Shishir Yashwant Koshe16400 F(P)COSulur
02 Sep 00 to 27 Oct 02Group Captain Rana Biswas15009 F(P)COSulur
11 Nov 02 to 11 Jul 04Group Captain Jankiraman Balasubramanian15558 F(P)COSulur
12 Jul 04 to 27 Apr 06Group Captain Vipin Indira Panabhan Nayar16829 F(P)COSulur
28 Apr 06 to 02 Nov 08Group Captain Shishir Yashwant Koshe16400 F(P)COSulur
03 Nov 08 to 13 Jun 10Group Captain Anup Kumar Sen18278 F(P)COSulur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.