31 Movement Control Unit

Date Raised : 1967-05-11 Location : Palam
In order to ensure smooth movement of men and material, 31 Movement Control Units was originally formed as Air Movement Section at Mirpur in erstwhile West Pakistan in 1939. Subsequently, this Units was renamed as Passenger and Freight (P&F) Forwarding Section and remained under 3 Wing which was later converted to a full-fledged Movement Control Units on 11 May 1967. 31 MCU is the staging base for undertaking Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief operations.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
08 Oct 77 to 04 Jan 81Squadron Leader Surendra Prabhakarrao Pendharkar6717 LGSCOPalam
14 Dec 81 to 12 Jul 85Wing Commander Subramanian Natarajan6447 LGSCOPalam
13 Jul 85 to 31 Aug 88Wing Commander Gopal Krishna Sharma7557 LGSCOPalam
01 Sep 88 to 12 May 91Wing Commander Bharat Bhushan Chaturvedi7562 F(N)COPalam
13 May 91 to 02 Aug 92Group Captain Jagdish Chander Malik6633 LGSCOPalam
03 Aug 92 to 30 Oct 94Group Captain Jasbir Singh Bhasin11100 LGSCOPalam
31 Oct 94 to 31 Jul 97Wing Commander Arabida Mohanty13414 LGSCOPalam
01 Aug 97 to 31 Aug 01Wing Commander Sahadeo Singh Tomar14959 LGSCOPalam
31 Aug 01 to 25 Jul 04Wing Commander Shirish Vinayak Nene15756 LGSCOPalam
26 Jul 04 to 21 May 06Wing Commander Biju Paul17791 LGSCOPalam
25 May 06 to 07 Jul 08Wing Commander Aloke Roy17783 LGSCOPalam
20 Apr 12 to 11 Jun 14Group Captain Rakesh Raturi18642 LGSCOPalam

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.