30 Wing

Date Raised : 1970-01-01 Location : Sarsawa (Saharanpur)
The idea of forming an Air Force Station at Sarsawa was conceived during World War II, 1942-1945. Initially an Air-field was developed near Saharanpur city, west of Yamuna canal and by the time Sarsawa Air field came into being, 2nd world war was over and active use of the airfield was abandoned and handed over to civil aviation for VIP movements. It was the Indo-China war in 1962 which once again created the requirement of this air field for active use by defence forces. The repair work started during Sep-Oct 1962 for using this air field as diversionary air field for Ambala and Palam. 11 Care and Maintenance Units came into being in 1964 at Sarsawa. After Indo-Pak conflict 1965, the second phase of expansion was taken up and on 1 Jan 1970 30 Wing came into existence. On 01 Jan 1970, 116 HU was raised here which moved to 32 Wing on 15 Aug 88. 41 LAS was attached to this wing on 23 Feb 1983 but moved out Palam on change over to Dornier on 3 Feb 2005. In addition 104 HU was formed here on 15 May 1976 and moved out to 35 Wing on 8 April 1990.
Unit previously existed as 11 C&MU

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Jan 70 to 02 Jun 70Wing Commander Rameshwar Prasad Sinha3855 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
21 Jun 70 to 04 Jul 72Wing Commander Jagdish Singh Wohra3943 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
16 Aug 72 to 07 Jan 75Wing Commander Sunil Baran Ghosh4611 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
08 Jan 75 to 02 Apr 77Wing Commander Bobby Johnson Berry4826 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
08 Apr 77 to 12 Apr 78Wing Commander Naresh Kumar5057 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
28 Aug 78 to 09 Nov 80Wing Commander Manjit Singh Dhillon7021 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
10 Nov 80 to 23 Aug 81Wing Commander Brij Mohan Datta5319 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
24 Aug 81 to 19 Oct 83Group Captain Brij Mohan Datta5319 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
20 Oct 83 to 13 Oct 85Group Captain Mohan Dharamdas Lalvani5658 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
14 Oct 85 to 03 Feb 88Group Captain Rajinder Pal Singh Dhillon7741 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
04 Feb 88 to 03 Dec 89Group Captain Narender Paul Narang9728 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
04 Dec 89 to 13 May 92Group Captain Tejinder Pal Singh Chatwal11290 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
14 May 92 to 05 Jul 94Group Captain Fali Homi Major11442 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
06 Jul 94 to 30 Jun 96Group Captain Anand Swarup Atri11640 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
01 Jul 96 to 04 May 97Group Captain Basudev Banerjee11654 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
05 May 97 to 05 Sep 99Group Captain Bijender Singh Siwach12413 GD(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
06 Sep 99 to 28 Jul 02Group Captain Bhabani Charan Talukdar13923 F(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
01 Aug 02 to 22 Apr 04Group Captain Anulya Chandra Bharali15049 F(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
23 Apr 04 to 02 Jul 06Group Captain Anil Kumar Sinha16074 F(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
03 Jul 06 to 15 Mar 09Group Captain Aravindra Singh Butola16789 F(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
20 Apr 09 to 14 Oct 10Group Captain George Thomas17722 F(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
15 Oct 10 to 17 Jun 12Group Captain Bhonu Johri18831 F(P)Stn CdrSarsawa (Saharanpur)
Unknown to Air Commodore Rohit Mahajan19187 F(P)AOCSarsawa (Saharanpur)
19 Dec 16 to Air Commodore Sandeep Chowdhary19207 F(P)AOCSarsawa (Saharanpur)
Unknown to Air Commodore Ajay Shukla18793 F(P)AOCSarsawa (Saharanpur)

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.