3 Base Repair Depot

Date Raised : 1962-02-01 Location : Chandigarh
Overhaul requirement of transport and helicopter fleet of the IAF necessitated setting up of No. 3 Base Repair Depot at Chandigarh on 20 Aug 1962. Group Captain TMJ Kriplani, the Depot’s first Commanding Officer, set up the requisite facilities with Russian collaboration and commenced the first overhaul of the IL-14 transport aircraft and the Mi-4 helicopter. With induction of new helicopters in IAF, the Depot graduated to overhaul of Mi-8 and Mi-17 helicopters. In fact, the Depot has today become the knowledge base for all Russian helicopters, and has undertaken number of tasks like life extension of Mi-25 helicopters, repair of Mi-26 helicopters and upgrade of Mi-35 helicopters.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Aug 62 to 01 Jun 66Group Captain Mangho Jeramdas Kripalani2395 ENGStn CdrChandigarh
01 Jun 66 to 01 Apr 67Group Captain Satgur Saran Singh2606 ENGStn CdrChandigarh
01 Apr 67 to 01 Aug 68Group Captain Sadashiv Wamanrao Desai3501 ENGStn CdrChandigarh
01 Aug 68 to 01 Sep 72Group Captain Jagdish Chandra Varma3788 ENGStn CdrChandigarh
01 Oct 72 to 01 Jun 75Group Captain Manakal Narayana Iyer Sundaresan3785 ENGStn CdrChandigarh
01 Jun 75 to 01 Aug 76Group Captain Jagjit Singh Sandhawalia3810 ENGStn CdrChandigarh
01 Aug 76 to 01 Aug 78Group Captain Gowrishankar Narayan Baindur4064 ENGStn CdrChandigarh
01 Aug 78 to 01 Mar 81Air Commodore Prabhakar Gajanan Joshi4063 ENGAOCChandigarh
01 May 81 to 01 Oct 83Air Commodore Lakkamsetti Ramakrishna4266 ENGAOCChandigarh
01 Oct 83 to 01 Nov 86Air Commodore Uttam Khushalani4959 AE(M)AOCChandigarh
01 Nov 86 to 01 Jan 89Air Commodore Charanjit Lal Mago6309 ENGAOCChandigarh
01 Jan 89 to 01 Dec 89Air Commodore Manjit Singh Mann5838 AE(M)AOCChandigarh
01 Jan 90 to 01 Jan 93Air Commodore Ghanshyam Gururani6387 ENGAOCChandigarh
01 Feb 93 to 01 Oct 94Air Commodore Naresh Chand Jain7065 AE(M)AOCChandigarh
01 Nov 94 to 01 Feb 97Air Commodore Avinash Pandurang Valavade8500 AE(M)AOCChandigarh
01 Mar 97 to 01 Jan 98Air Commodore Jaspal Singh Kalra7999 AE(M)AOCChandigarh
01 Jan 98 to 03 Jan 01Air Commodore Arvinda Agrawal11502 AE(M)AOCChandigarh
04 Jan 01 to 01 Nov 01Air Commodore Ambrish Kumar11547 AE(L)AOCChandigarh
02 Nov 01 to 30 Sep 03Air Commodore Shakti Bhushan Prashar12442 AE(M)AOCChandigarh
01 Oct 03 to 30 Sep 05Air Commodore Sant Prakash Singh Virk13491 AE(L)AOCChandigarh
01 Oct 05 to 30 Aug 07Air Commodore Ravi Kant Srivastava13312 AE(L)AOCChandigarh
31 Aug 07 to 16 Aug 09Air Commodore Subhash Chandra Luthra15105 AE(L)AOCChandigarh
17 Aug 09 to 25 Apr 11Air Commodore Ravinder Sharma15646 AE(M)AOCChandigarh
25 Apr 11 to 01 May 11Group Captain Suresh Singh16941 AE(L)Stn CdrChandigarh
02 May 11 to 06 May 13Air Commodore Suresh Singh16941 AE(L)AOCChandigarh
06 May 13 to 30 Nov 14Air Commodore Arun Kumar Barik17122 AE(M)AOCChandigarh
01 Dec 14 to 30 Jun 16Air Commodore Pramod Madhukar Puranik17652 AE(M)AOCChandigarh
01 Jul 16 to 31 Dec 18Air Commodore Sanjeeva Sinha17626 AE(M)AOCChandigarh

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.