No.27 Squadron Flaming Arrows

Motto : Durarakshya Saralakshya (Strike far, Strike Sure)
Date Raised : 1957-02-15 Location : Gorakhpur
Number 27 squadron, the “Flaming Arrows”, was formed at Adampur on 15 Feb 1957. The squadron took part in ‘Operation Vijay’ for the liberation of Goa in 1960 and also took part in the1965 and 1971 Indo-Pak conflicts. The squadron was the first to be deployed at Leh during Op Meghdoot with Hunter aircraft in 1984. It was re-equipped with Jaguars in January 1985 with deep penetration strike and EW roles. It took part in Operation Safed sagar in Kargil sector in Jul 1999. The Sqn was the first to be deployed for Op Parakram on 16 Dec 2001. The Squadron initiated a new era of strategic reach for the IAF by being the first to carry out AAR (air-to-air refuelling) with IL-78 Flight Refueling Aircraft in March 2003.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
15 Feb 57 to 23 Jan 58Squadron Leader George Douglas Clarke3295 GD(P)COPalam
24 Jan 58 to 16 Oct 60Squadron Leader Arthur William Berry3054 GD(P)CO
17 Oct 60 to 14 Nov 63Squadron Leader Charles Harold Ivan Carson3647 GD(P)CO
15 Nov 63 to 06 Nov 65Wing Commander George Douglas Clarke3295 GD(P)CO
07 Nov 65 to 13 Apr 67Wing Commander Robert Arnold Weir3881 GD(P)COHalwara
14 Apr 67 to 20 Jan 71Wing Commander Mian Naranjan Singh4340 GD(P)COHalwara
21 Jan 71 to 23 Sep 73Wing Commander Yash Paul Mehta4595 GD(P)CO
24 Sep 73 to 04 Mar 75Wing Commander Farokh Jehangir Mehta4906 GD(P)CO
05 Mar 75 to 20 Nov 76Wing Commander Ranjit Singh Bedi5120 GD(P)CO
21 Nov 76 to 03 Dec 78Wing Commander Sherwin Derek Leslie Tully5270 GD(P)CO
04 Dec 78 to 23 Mar 81Wing Commander Manbir Singh6771 GD(P)CO
24 Mar 81 to 19 Jun 83Wing Commander Sitaramaiah Pingali7674 GD(P)CO
20 Jun 83 to 24 Sep 84Wing Commander Suresh Shankarrao Dange6762 GD(P)CO
25 Sep 84 to 25 Jun 86Wing Commander Mohan Kumar Prabhakar Samant9061 GD(P)CO
26 Jun 86 to 07 Feb 88Wing Commander Nitin Madhukar Gupte11847 GD(P)COGorakhpur
08 Feb 88 to 04 Mar 90Wing Commander Satish Kumar Sofat12207 GD(P)CO
05 Mar 90 to 20 Oct 91Wing Commander Murali Sundaram12369 GD(P)CO
21 Oct 91 to 22 Sep 93Wing Commander Karunakaran Gopa Kumar13391 F(P)CO
23 Sep 93 to 25 Jun 95Wing Commander Ravindra Hemchandra Karve13369 F(P)CO
26 Jun 95 to 15 Jun 97Wing Commander Ravinath Gururaj Burli14667 F(P)CO
16 Jun 97 to 27 Sep 99Wing Commander Harikamal Jeet Singh Sokhey15858 F(P)CO
27 Sep 99 to 22 Apr 02Wing Commander Sanjay Sharma16227 F(P)CO
22 Apr 02 to 28 Dec 03Wing Commander Tapas Guha16998 F(P)CO
29 Dec 03 to 17 Apr 05Wing Commander Atit Shanker Kolhe17437 F(P)CO
18 Apr 05 to 20 Aug 06Wing Commander Kshetrimayum Sgyamkesho Singh17457 F(P)CO
21 Aug 06 to Wing Commander Naveen Talwani20121 F(P)CO

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.