24 Equipment Depot

Date Raised : 1966-12-13 Location : Manauri
302 Maintenance Units was established in 1939 at Allahabad. During 1942, it was converted into a Universal Equipment Depot, the first ever such Depot in South East Asia as per RAF records, to sustain the air operations of Allied Forces during the Second World War. In 1948 the Depot was renamed as 4 Equipment Depot and was rechristened as 24 Equipment Depot in year 1966. Traversing through the days of providing spares support to aircrafts such as Tempest, Spitfire, Gnat, Marut, Canberra and Hunter aircraft, 24 Equipment Depot now stores spares for Jaguar, Avro and Dornier aircraft, Chetak / Chetah and Cheetal Helicopters, ALH and RPA.
Unit previously existed as 4 ED

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
14 Dec 66 to 27 Oct 69Group Captain Manmohan Malhotra2045 LGSCOManauri
28 Oct 69 to 30 Jun 72Group Captain Srijoyananda Patnaik1785 LGSCOManauri
01 Jul 72 to 05 Jan 75Group Captain Kuppuswamier Chidambaram3531 LGSCOManauri
06 Jan 75 to 31 Dec 77Group Captain Subramania Ramakrishnan3707 LGSCOManauri
01 Jan 78 to 09 Feb 79Group Captain Parameshwara Iyer Venkatachalam Iyer4182 LGSCOManauri
10 Feb 79 to 18 Nov 79Wing Commander Ramesh Chandra Adhaulya5166 EQPTCOManauri
19 Nov 79 to 03 Jan 82Group Captain Ashok Sarkar4463 LGSCOManauri
04 Jan 82 to 25 Feb 84Group Captain Austin Marian Menezes5471 LGSCOManauri
26 Feb 84 to 16 Jun 85Group Captain Shishir Kumar Chaturvedi5814 LGSCOManauri
17 Jun 85 to 31 Aug 88Air Commodore Nirmal Kumar Mathur5172 LGSAOCManauri
01 Sep 88 to 02 Jun 91Air Commodore Bal Krishan Challu5647 LGSAOCManauri
05 Aug 91 to 26 Nov 92Air Commodore Vinod Singh Rawat6043 LGSAOCManauri
27 Nov 92 to 29 Sep 94Air Commodore Suresh Chandra Vohra6713 LGSAOCManauri
30 Sep 94 to 18 Aug 96Air Commodore Jagdish Singh Dalal9228 LGSAOCManauri
19 Aug 96 to 30 Nov 97Air Commodore Ramamoorthy Jayaraman9656 LGSAOCManauri
01 Dec 97 to 18 Jan 98Air Commodore Gordon Peter Douglas D'Souza10984 F(P)AOCManauri
20 Apr 98 to 18 Jun 00Air Commodore Surinder Mohan Taxali9789 F(P)AOCManauri
19 Jun 00 to 31 Oct 01Air Commodore Gordon Peter Douglas D'Souza10984 F(P)AOCManauri
01 Nov 01 to 31 Aug 02Air Commodore Vipin Kumar11950 LGSAOCManauri
01 Sep 02 to 31 Oct 04Air Commodore Sunil Kumar Sinha12355 LGSAOCManauri
01 Nov 04 to 30 Dec 05Air Commodore Jalbir Singh Boparai13108 LGSAOCManauri
02 Jan 06 to 29 Aug 06Air Commodore Sundaram Sriram13408 LGSAOCManauri
01 Sep 06 to 31 Mar 07Air Commodore Arabida Mohanty13414 LGSAOCManauri
02 Apr 07 to 30 Sep 09Air Commodore Raj Kapoor Upreti13417 LGSAOCManauri
01 Oct 09 to 16 Oct 11Air Commodore Jai Vir Singh15758 LGSAOCManauri
17 Oct 11 to 22 Dec 13Air Commodore Kaustubh Shrikant Phansalkar16123 LGSAOCManauri
23 Dec 13 to 29 Jun 15Air Commodore Mannepalli Baladitya17230 LGSAOCManauri
30 Jun 15 to 20 Feb 17Air Commodore Sanjay Aneja17234 LGSAOCManauri
21 Feb 17 to Air Commodore Aloke Roy17783 LGSAOCManauri

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.