No.222 Squadron Tigersharks

Motto : Vinahay Dushkrtam (Destroyer of Evil)
Date Raised : 1969-09-15 Location : Thanjavur
222 Squadron was raised at Ambala on 15 Sep 69 with SU-7 aircraft. The Squadron moved to Halwara in Jul 71 and was soon engaged in active combat operations in the 1971 war. The Squadron launched counter air strikes against Risalewala and Chander Airfields with immense success despite stiff enemy opposition. Close Air Support was centered around Dra-Baba-Nanak, Husseinwala and Firozpur sectors. Numerous strikes were launched against enemy armour, gunpositions and troops which virtually paralysed the armour thrust and exposed its weak flanks for the Indian armour. Short term interdiction missions were directed against rolling stock, rail tracks, marshalling yeards, bridges and enemy convoys. In this the Squadron achieved remarkable success. Photo recee missions were launched deep into enemy territory against enemy radars. The Squadron was highly decorated for its role during the conflict with one MVC, three Vr C, three VMs and two Mentioned in Despatches.

In the post war period the Units continued its relentless task of maintaining the highest standards of professionalism and gained wide acclaim in exercises, gunnery meets and inspections. The Squadron shifted back to Ambala in May 75 and continued to operate from there till May 81. On 14 May 81, the Squadron shifted to Hindon. In Dec 85 the Squadron became the first Units in the IAF, to be quipped with MiG-27 aircraft. The then Prime Minister Late Shri Rajiv Gandhi visited the Squadron and named it "The Tigersharks". The Squadron moved to Air Force Station Hasimara on 19 May 1989. The Squadron was number plated in March 2011. It was resurrected in Jan 2020 on the Su-30 aircraft

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
15 Sep 69 to 31 May 73Wing Commander Allan Albert Da Costa4580 GD(P)COAmbala/ Halwara
01 Jun 73 to 18 May 75Wing Commander Onkar Singh Wadhawan4899 GD(P)COHalwara
19 May 75 to 14 Sep 77Wing Commander Kalpathy Annanthakrishna Hariharan5185 GD(P)COHalwara/ Ambala
15 Sep 77 to 09 Dec 79Wing Commander Bipinchandra Shantaram Raje5182 GD(P)COAmbala
10 Dec 79 to 04 Jul 82Wing Commander Syed Shahid Hussain Naqvi7193 GD(P)COAmbala/ Hindon
05 Jul 82 to 29 Jul 84Wing Commander Swaran Singh Banga8100 GD(P)COHindon
30 Jul 84 to 28 Sep 86Wing Commander Jagjit Singh Ghuman10123 GD(P)COHindon
29 Sep 86 to 01 Nov 87Wing Commander Kuldeep Singh Sahota9848 GD(P)COHindon
02 Nov 87 to 29 Oct 89Wing Commander Gurcharan Singh Bhogal12504 GD(P)COHindon/ Hashimara
30 Oct 89 to 01 Dec 91Wing Commander Mukundan Sushil Kumar12502 GD(P)COHashimara
02 Dec 91 to 19 Dec 93Wing Commander Anup Rajkumar Nigam13240 F(P)COHashimara
20 Dec 93 to 15 May 95Wing Commander Kesava Kurup Vijay Kumar13396 F(P)COHashimara
15 May 95 to 23 Feb 97Wing Commander Jinendra Kumbhat14558 F(P)COHashimara
24 Feb 97 to 07 Mar 99Wing Commander Pochana Prasad Reddy15008 F(P)COHashimara
08 Mar 99 to 08 Feb 01Wing Commander Gurinder Singh Mann16033 F(P)COHashimara
09 Jul 01 to 03 Jun 03Wing Commander Jagroop Singh Sandhu16989 F(P)COHashimara
04 Jun 03 to 24 Apr 05Wing Commander Rajeev Bharadwaj18552 F(P)COHashimara
25 Apr 05 to Wing Commander Inderpal Singh Walia19518 F(P)COHashimara

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.