21 Wing

Date Raised : 1966-08-01 Location : Leh
21 Wing was formed in 1966. his located at an altitude of 10,845 ft and spread over 1019 acres of land and has a runway length is 9,700 ft. The Wing provides Air Traffic Control and safety facilities to transport, helicopters and fighter aircrafts operating to and from this airfield. It also renders enroute navigational facilities to aircrafts and helicopters flying in close proximity to the International Border and Line of Control.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Aug 66 to 16 Jul 67Wing Commander Brijpal Singh Sikand3947 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
16 Jul 67 to 06 Sep 68Wing Commander Chitta Ranjan Bose3865 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
06 Sep 68 to 02 Jan 70Wing Commander Muthyala Dhanraj3604 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
03 Jan 70 to 26 Mar 71Wing Commander Suresh Chand4585 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
27 Mar 71 to 19 Mar 72Wing Commander Krishna Kumar Gupta4621 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
02 Mar 72 to 22 Nov 73Wing Commander Mangatil Karakad Chandrasekhar4720 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
23 Nov 73 to 19 Jul 74Wing Commander Chander Parkash Puri4917 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
20 Jul 74 to 14 Mar 76Wing Commander Rajeshwar Kumar Verma5021 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
15 Mar 76 to 17 Mar 77Wing Commander Verinder Puri5199 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
18 Jul 77 to 07 Feb 79Wing Commander Inder Puri6499 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
08 Feb 79 to 28 Jan 80Wing Commander Kenneth Rodney Dutton5873 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
29 Jan 80 to 07 Dec 80Wing Commander Jawahar Lal Kochhar5796 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
08 Dec 80 to 14 Feb 82Wing Commander Abhaya Singh8424 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
15 Feb 82 to 22 Jan 84Group Captain Eknath Narayan Gadre5378 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
23 Jan 84 to 17 Dec 85Group Captain Dinesh Chandra Kaushik6353 GD(P)Stn CdrLeh
18 Feb 85 to 12 Oct 86Air Commodore Madhavan Ambaidy5372 GD(P)AOCLeh
13 Oct 86 to 09 Mar 88Air Commodore Naresh Kumar5057 GD(P)AOCLeh
10 Mar 88 to 11 Jun 89Air Commodore Gurdarshan Singh Brar6146 GD(P)AOCLeh
12 Jun 89 to 12 May 91Air Commodore Manjit Singh Dhillon7021 GD(P)AOCLeh
13 May 91 to 29 Dec 92Air Commodore Rajinder Pal Singh Dhillon7741 GD(P)AOCLeh
30 Dec 92 to 26 Mar 95Air Commodore Vijay Kumar Mohrotra8441 GD(P)AOCLeh
27 Mar 95 to 19 Aug 96Air Commodore Mohinder Kumar Saini9779 GD(P)AOCLeh
02 Sep 96 to 14 Oct 97Air Commodore Mirza Murtuza Ali11340 GD(P)AOCLeh
15 Oct 97 to 19 Sep 99Air Commodore Harpal Singh Ahluwalia9821 GD(P)AOCLeh
20 Sep 99 to 03 Feb 02Air Commodore Fali Homi Major11442 GD(P)AOCLeh
04 Feb 02 to 02 Feb 04Air Commodore Anil Bhalla12759 GD(P)AOCLeh
03 Feb 04 to 11 Dec 05Air Commodore Kulmanbir Singh Hundal12784 GD(P)AOCLeh
12 Dec 05 to 30 Apr 07Air Commodore Bhabani Charan Talukdar13923 F(P)AOCLeh
01 May 07 to 26 Jul 09Air Commodore Kulwant Singh Gill15220 F(P)AOCLeh
27 Jul 09 to 03 Jan 11Air Commodore Anil Tiwari17160 F(P)AOCLeh
04 Jan 11 to 20 Dec 12Air Commodore Sandesh Prabhakar Wagle17710 F(P)AOCLeh
21 Dec 12 to 30 Jun 14Air Commodore Rajesh Isser16968 F(P)AOCLeh
07 Jul 14 to 18 Sep 16Air Commodore Balakrishnan Manikantan18291 F(P)AOCLeh
27 Mar 17 to Air Commodore Stanzin Thenless19970 F(P)AOCLeh

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.