No.2 Squadron Winged Arrows

Motto : Amogh Lakshya (True to Aim)
Date Raised : 1941-04-01 Location : Tezpur
On 1st April 1941, No.2 Squadron was raised at Peshawar. It was equipped with the Westland Wapiti aircraft. In the year 1942, the squadron had its first taste of action, with recce and support missions in the “Chindits” (Special Allied Force, WWII, Burma) with the Hurricane aircraft. In 1944-45 the squadron carried out recce operations from Burma against the Japanese Forces. 1946 the unit moved to Kohat (North West Frontier Province). The same year Air Force disbanded two of its oldest squadrons, the No.1 and No.2 Squadron. The Squadron was reborn in 1951 with the Spitfire XVIIIs and the Havard Trainers at Air Force Station Palam. In 1956 the squadron converted to Dassault Ouragan, the “Toofani”. The unit carried low-level display aerobatics with the Ouragan. The squadron was tasked with raid escort and army close support missions of Gnats in 1965. It was tasked with patrol missions defending Amritsar in 1971. Srinagar and Kalaikunda became the home of the Winged Arrows in 1975 and 1979, respectively. The Squadron was awarded the President’s colours for its distinguished service to the nation in 1979. The Ajeets were phased out in 1991, and the squadron converted to a ground attack role with the MiG-27FLs and MiG-23UBs. In the 1990s, the squadron was also tasked with a maritime strike role. The squadron was number plated in 2003 and resurrected in 2009 at Air Force Station Tezpur with the SU-30 MKIs. The squadron participated in Indo-UK Air Force exercise Indradhanush III in 2010 at Air Force Station Kalaikunda and Indradhanush IV in 2015 at RAF Coningsby. The squadron also participated in Exercise COPE India With USAF in 2018.The squadron was entrusted with Su30 MKI training role in 2019 and the BrahMos role in 2021.
 Read Detailed History
Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Apr 41 to 09 Jun 41Flight Lieutenant Aizad Baksh Awan1552 GD(P)COPeshawar
10 Jun 41 to 27 Jun 41Flight Lieutenant Aspy Merwan Engineer1554 GD(P)COPeshawar
28 Jun 41 to 26 Oct 42Squadron Leader Aspy Merwan Engineer1554 GD(P)COKohat
26 Oct 42 to 21 Apr 43Squadron Leader Habib Ullah Khan1557 GD(P)COPeshawar
01 May 43 to 09 Sep 43Squadron Leader Colin Dunford-WoodRAFCOPeshawar
17 Sep 43 to 27 Apr 44Squadron Leader Surjit Singh Majithia1563 GD(P)COKohat
27 Apr 44 to 23 Mar 46Squadron Leader Kanwar Jaswant Singh1587 GD(P)CO - To UKKohat
09 Apr 46 to 06 Mar 47Squadron Leader Maqbool Rabb1581 GD(P)CO - To 2EFTSKohat
23 Mar 47 to 01 Dec 47Squadron Leader Murat Singh Aulakh1660 GD(O)CO - Fm RAFAmbKohat
15 Jul 51 to 01 Jun 52Squadron Leader Randhir Singh2135 GD(P)COPalam
01 Jun 52 to 01 Aug 55Squadron Leader Rointon Merwan Engineer2120 GD(P)COPalam
01 Aug 55 to 01 Feb 56Squadron Leader Dilbagh Singh2998 GD(P)COPalam
01 Feb 56 to 22 Nov 56Squadron Leader Roopanagunta Vishnu Bhaskar Bhardwaj3079 GD(P)COPalam
01 Dec 56 to 24 May 59Squadron Leader Toric Zachariah3026 GD(P)COPalam
25 May 59 to 01 Aug 60Squadron Leader Shreedhar Balkrishan Sheorey3663 GD(P)COPalam
01 Aug 60 to 02 Apr 62Squadron Leader Terence Joseph Desa3863 GD(P)COPalam
02 Apr 62 to 01 Oct 62Squadron Leader Jayaram Nilkanth Jatar4040 GD(P)COAmbala
01 Oct 62 to 31 Aug 63Wing Commander Bikash Kumar Ghosh3132 GD(P)COAmbala
01 Sep 63 to 01 Sep 66Wing Commander Bharat Singh3582 GD(P)COAmbala/ Agra/ Bareil
01 Sep 66 to 01 Nov 69Wing Commander Kanwal Krishan Malik4335 GD(P)COAmbala
19 Nov 69 to 28 Jan 73Wing Commander Johney William Greene4093 GD(P)COAmbala
29 Jan 73 to 01 Apr 75Wing Commander Akbar Singh Bains4882 GD(P)COSrinagar
01 Apr 75 to 21 Apr 77Wing Commander Prem Kumar Vashisth5076 GD(P)COSrinagar
22 Apr 77 to 18 Dec 79Wing Commander Lawrence Aloysious Menezes5280 GD(P)COSrinagar/ Kalaikunda
18 Dec 79 to 01 Oct 81Wing Commander Gurdip Singh Bal7707 GD(P)COKalaikunda
01 Oct 81 to 28 Feb 84Wing Commander Baldhir Singh Ghumman8170 GD(P)COKalaikunda
28 Feb 84 to 14 Apr 86Wing Commander Anil Sadashiv Patwardhan10541 GD(P)COKalaikunda
14 Apr 86 to 26 Sep 87Wing Commander Babu Ajit Kumar Shetty10110 GD(P)COKalaikunda
26 Sep 87 to 20 Feb 89Wing Commander Rajinder Pal Singh10601 GD(P)COKalaikunda
20 Feb 89 to 22 Apr 91Wing Commander Krishnamurthi Rajaram12933 F(P)COKalaikunda
22 Apr 91 to 10 May 93Wing Commander Devendra Nath Ganesh13243 F(P)COKalaikunda
10 May 93 to 11 Apr 94Wing Commander Jatinder Singh Dhillon13764 F(P)COKalaikunda
12 Apr 94 to 01 May 95Wing Commander Neeno Chand13925 F(P)COKalaikunda
01 May 95 to 01 May 97Wing Commander Arvindra Ramachandra Oak14103 F(P)COKalaikunda
01 Mar 97 to 31 Aug 98Wing Commander Mark McKenzie14691 F(P)COKalaikunda
31 Aug 98 to 01 Oct 00Wing Commander Balakrishnan Suresh16206 F(P)COKalaikunda
01 Jan 01 to 01 Nov 02Wing Commander Rajiv Kumar Mendiratta16799 F(P)COKalaikunda
01 Nov 02 to 01 Jul 04Wing Commander Pankaj Mohan Sinha17842 F(P)COKalaikunda
01 Jul 04 to 01 Jul 05Wing Commander Rakesh Sinha18797 F(P)COKalaikunda

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.