19 Wing

Date Raised : 1963-02-21 Location : Borjhar (Guwahati)
Air Force Station Guwahati was formed at Borjhar on the South bank of Brahmaputra river in November 1962 as a sequel to the Chinese aggression. The general terrain of this region is flat and amply forested with wild vegetation and foliage. 33 Sqn with Caribous and a Communication Flight were the first two operational Unitss of Air Force Station. The Challengers - a Helicopter Units was formed in November 1971 with the versatile Mi-8 Helicopter which were subsequently replaced with Mi-17s in 2001. Air Force Station, Guwahati also accommodates a Repair and Salvage Units, a Signal Units, Base Repair Depot, Movement Control Units, Regional Examination Board and an Airmen Selection Centre.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
21 Feb 63 to 31 Oct 65Wing Commander Faredun Dinshaw Irani3240 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
15 Nov 65 to 01 Apr 68Wing Commander Sharan Singh Sawhny1937 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
15 Apr 68 to 01 Apr 70Wing Commander Sarab Daman Singh3176 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
01 May 70 to 29 Jan 73Wing Commander Vijay Chand Mankotia4041 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
30 Jan 73 to 15 Sep 73Wing Commander Narayan Waman Tilak4411 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
23 Oct 73 to 13 Jan 76Wing Commander Jagdish Kumar Seth4403 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
14 Jan 76 to 19 Jun 77Wing Commander Krishna Chandra Misra4255 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
20 Jun 77 to 14 Jul 80Group Captain Mohan Chandra4889 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
18 Aug 80 to 10 Feb 81Group Captain Rama Shankar Singh4660 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
01 May 81 to 16 Jun 82Group Captain Rabindar Nath Kharbanda5589 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
17 Jun 82 to 19 Oct 84Group Captain Ajay Krishna Avasthi5805 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
25 Oct 84 to 18 Aug 85Group Captain Ved Prakash Kala6340 GD(P)Stn CdrBorjhar (Guwahati)
19 Aug 85 to 19 May 88Air Commodore Harwant Bir Singh5065 GD(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
24 Oct 88 to 24 Feb 89Air Commodore Verinder Puri5199 GD(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
07 Mar 89 to 08 Sep 89Air Commodore Kenneth Rodney Dutton5873 GD(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
01 Mar 90 to 18 May 92Air Commodore Jawahar Lal Bhargava7209 GD(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
18 May 92 to 18 Sep 95Air Commodore Krishan Kumar Sangar7017 GD(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
09 Oct 95 to 30 Nov 98Air Commodore Druba Jyoti Sarma9822 GD(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
07 Dec 98 to 03 Apr 01Air Commodore Suresh Chandra Malhan11579 GD(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
03 Apr 01 to 01 Jan 03Air Commodore Sudhir Sah11648 GD(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
01 Jan 03 to 30 Sep 04Air Commodore Raghupati Saran Das13158 F(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
01 Oct 04 to 23 Nov 06Air Commodore Vaidya Nathan Babu13386 F(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
23 Nov 06 to 28 Dec 08Air Commodore Manmohan Bahadur14665 F(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
29 Dec 08 to 30 Sep 09Air Commodore Arun Purushottam Garud14692 F(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
01 Oct 09 to 08 May 11Air Commodore Alok Kumar16988 F(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
09 May 11 to 03 Jan 13Air Commodore Tejinder Singh Sareen17138 F(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
04 Jan 13 to 09 Nov 14Air Commodore Mukesh Rawat17453 F(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
10 Nov 14 to 18 Dec 16Air Commodore Balakrishana Pillai Sreebhavan Krishna Kumar17870 F(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
19 Dec 16 to 05 May 19Air Commodore Shashank Misra19175 F(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)
06 May 19 to 31 May 21Air Commodore Vyankat Tukaram Mare20778 F(P)AOCBorjhar (Guwahati)

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.