12 Wing

Date Raised : 1961-02-01 Location : Chandigarh
12 Wing was established at Chandigarh on 1 Mar 1961, playing home to the newly raised Nos 42 and 44 Squadrons. Since then it is one of the premier transport bases in the IAF. Over the years, the pride of the IAF's heavy-lift fleet - An 12s, Il-76s, Mi-26s were stationed at 12 Wing.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Mar 61 to 17 Dec 62Group Captain Murat Singh Aulakh1660 GD(O)Stn CdrChandigarh
18 Dec 62 to 11 Jan 66Group Captain Trilok Nath Ghadiok2354 GD(P)Stn CdrChandigarh
12 Jan 66 to 01 Jan 69Air Commodore Jaspal Singh2451 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
02 Jan 69 to 14 Jun 72Air Commodore Edul Jahangir Dhatigara1899 GD(O)AOCChandigarh
08 Sep 72 to 01 Jan 73Air Commodore Lal Singh Grewal2337 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
30 Jan 73 to 05 Jan 75Air Commodore Kenneth Hubert Larkins3511 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
14 Jan 75 to 13 Jan 76Air Commodore Jagdish Raj Bhasin3591 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
14 Feb 76 to 11 Apr 79Air Commodore Madan Mohan Arora3864 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
12 Apr 79 to 11 Apr 81Air Commodore Rajagopal Sriramulu Naidu4090 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
12 Apr 81 to 03 Jan 83Air Commodore Purushottam Laxmikant Purohit4581 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
04 Jan 83 to 13 Jan 85Air Commodore Suresh Chand4585 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
14 Jan 85 to 30 Nov 87Air Commodore Dalip Singh Sabherwal4756 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
01 Dec 87 to 14 Jun 89Air Commodore Chitta Ranjan Ghosh6141 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
15 Jun 89 to 30 Jun 91Air Commodore Gurdarshan Singh Brar6146 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
19 Aug 91 to 21 Jun 92Air Commodore Shailendra Singh Kaushik6766 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
22 Jun 92 to 02 Jan 94Air Commodore Ashok Kumar Goel8151 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
03 Jan 94 to 15 Sep 96Air Commodore Ivor Percival Alexander8430 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
16 Sep 96 to 10 Jan 99Air Commodore Ramamoorthy Vijay Kumar10918 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
11 Jan 99 to 02 Jan 01Air Commodore Shyamal Kumar Banerjee10941 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
04 Jan 01 to 14 Jul 02Air Commodore Vrittamani Srinivasaiyangar Govindarajan12232 GD(P)AOCChandigarh
15 Jul 02 to 19 Oct 03Air Commodore Arun Gopinath13397 F(P)AOCChandigarh
20 Oct 03 to 02 Jan 05Air Commodore Sanjay Sharad Kumar Tilloo13919 F(P)AOCChandigarh
03 Jan 05 to 04 Jan 07Air Commodore Trikandiyur Kollath Venugopal13598 F(P)AOCChandigarh
05 Jan 07 to 14 Oct 07Air Commodore Manmohan Sud13945 F(P)AOCChandigarh
15 Oct 07 to 22 Dec 09Air Commodore Sridharan Panicker Radha Krishnan Nair16040 F(P)AOCChandigarh
23 Dec 09 to 01 May 11Air Commodore Rajeev Sachdeva16582 F(P)AOCChandigarh
02 May 11 to 01 May 13Air Commodore Suryakant Chintaman Chafekar17013 F(P)AOCChandigarh
02 May 13 to 23 Dec 15Air Commodore Surendra Kumar Indoria18296 F(P)AOCChandigarh
26 Dec 17 to 04 Aug 19Air Commodore Shivkumar Srinivasan19520 F(P)AOCChandigarh
05 Aug 19 to Air Commodore Tejbir Singh19958 F(P)AOCChandigarh

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.