No.114 Helicopter Unit Siachen Pioneers

Motto : Dussadhyam Kimsadhyam Kinnah (Nothing is Difficult or Impossible for us)
Date Raised : 1964-04-01 Location : Leh
114 Helicopter Units was formed at Leh on 01 Apr 1964 with an establishment of 10 Allouette helicopters. The role of the Units was RTR, ATOM and casualty evacuation. Towards the end of year 1964, the Units HQ was shifted to Jammu from where a detachment operated in Srinagar till 1975 before shifting back to Jammu. Thereafter the Units moved back to Leh in 1987 and has been operating Cheetah helicopters since then. The Units was maintaining a permanent detachment at Thoise for Air Maintenance of Siachen Glacier under OP Meghdoot. This detachment was shifted to Base Camp II on 04 Aug 97 for the same role. The Units has been operational in supporting the Indian Army in OP Meghdoot since April 1984. The continuing operation, on the world's highest and inhospitable Glacier, which has probably been the longest battle ever, is a story of incredible achievements and numerous firsts. 114 Helicopter Units, has rightly earned its name of "Siachen Pioneers."
 Read Detailed History
Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
21 Apr 64 to 16 Jan 66Squadron Leader Arvind Dalaya4025 F(P)COSrinagar
17 Jan 66 to 12 Jan 69Squadron Leader Ram Kumar Sinha4974 F(P)COSrinagar
13 Jan 69 to 12 Apr 72Squadron Leader Mohan Chandra4889 F(P)COSrinagar
13 Apr 72 to 09 May 74Squadron Leader Avtar Singh Makkar6522 F(P)COJammu
10 May 74 to 30 Apr 76Squadron Leader Gopal Krishna Avasthi10387 F(P)COJammu
01 May 76 to 08 Apr 79Squadron Leader Virendra Kumar Dhir6862 F(P)COJammu
09 Apr 79 to 16 Dec 79Wing Commander Virendra Kumar Dhir6862 F(P)COJammu
17 Dec 79 to 06 Jul 81Wing Commander Narinder Singh Chahal8155 F(P)COJammu
07 Jul 81 to 08 Jan 84Wing Commander Jasminder Singh Kahlon8190 F(P)COJammu
09 Jan 84 to 13 Apr 86Wing Commander Shrikant Prabhakar Puranik8434 F(P)COLeh
14 Apr 86 to 29 May 88Wing Commander Ashok Anand10150 F(P)COLeh
30 May 88 to 30 Jun 89Wing Commander Vikas Shridhar Karandikar12410 F(P)COLeh
17 Jul 89 to 22 Jan 92Wing Commander Mahendra Goli12238 F(P)COLeh
23 Jan 92 to 06 Feb 94Wing Commander Dilip Dinkar Mandpe13937 F(P)COLeh
07 Feb 94 to 13 Nov 94Wing Commander Vikram Stephen Dharamjit13942 F(P)COLeh
14 Nov 94 to 22 Apr 97Wing Commander Manmohan Bahadur14665 F(P)COLeh
23 Apr 97 to 13 Jun 99Wing Commander Vivek Vikash Bandopadhayay15863 F(P)COLeh
14 Jun 99 to 17 Jun 01Wing Commander Aravindra Singh Butola16789 F(P)COLeh
18 Jun 01 to 15 Jun 03Wing Commander Mayenk Tewari17719 F(P)COLeh
16 Jun 03 to 08 May 05Wing Commander Pravin Kumar Sharma17465 F(P)COLeh

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.