11 Wing

Date Raised : 1959-09-29 Location : Tezpur
Air Force Station, Tezpur one of the EAC's main fighter base, is located in the lush green valley of Assam on the north bank of the Brahmaputra. The airfield was constructed by the British in 1942-43. But Air Force Station Tezpur, however, was formed much later on September 29, 1959. This Station occupies a strategic position in Assam vis-å-vis Southeast Tibet, Bangladesh, and Myanmar. Over a period of time the Station has been home to a range of frontline fighters. A helicopter Units also operates from this base. Toofanis and Vampires were the first aircraft to fly from this base. Other aircraft like the Hunters and the MiGs later followed to fly from this base. The MiG Operational Flying Training Units or MOFTU was also formed at this Station in the early days. The helicopter Units in Tezpur provides communication flights to a number of para military as well as civil agencies. The Units is also used for casualty evacuation from the remote areas of Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland. The area of operation of the Station covers several helipads in Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram and Assam.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
29 Sep 59 to Wing Commander Hemonto Kumar Bose2348 GD(P)Stn CdrTezpur
Unknown to 30 Sep 62Wing Commander Fredrick Van Allen Scudder2639 GD(P)Stn CdrTezpur
29 Oct 62 to Group Captain Arjan Singh Mangharam Bhawnani1868 GD(P)Stn CdrTezpur
Unknown to Group Captain John Frederick Shukla2458 GD(P)Stn CdrTezpur
01 Jan 63 to 01 Dec 66Group Captain John Jasper Bouche2938 GD(P)Stn CdrTezpur
14 Jul 67 to 06 Aug 69Group Captain Bharat Singh3582 GD(P)Stn CdrTezpur
07 Aug 69 to 29 Feb 72Group Captain Malcolm Shirley Dundas Wollen3641 GD(P)Stn CdrTezpur
01 Mar 72 to 02 Apr 74Group Captain Man Mohan Singh4023 GD(P)Stn CdrTezpur
10 May 74 to 15 Jun 76Group Captain Karan Yadav4200 GD(P)Stn CdrTezpur
16 Jun 76 to 26 Dec 77Group Captain Dilip Shankar Jog4608 GD(P)Stn CdrTezpur
12 Apr 78 to 26 Dec 79Air Commodore Gandharva Sen4429 GD(P)AOCTezpur
27 Dec 79 to 08 Oct 82Air Commodore Pynummooltil Simon George4240 GD(P)AOCTezpur
09 Oct 82 to 02 Aug 83Air Commodore Partha Kumar Dey4404 GD(P)AOCTezpur
03 Aug 83 to 22 Jan 85Air Commodore Krishen Kumar Bakshi5012 GD(P)AOCTezpur
23 Jan 85 to 04 Feb 86Air Commodore Krishna Narayana Pillai4874 GD(P)AOCTezpur
05 Feb 86 to 17 Feb 88Air Commodore Ashok Prataprao Shinde5671 GD(P)AOCTezpur
18 Feb 88 to 23 Dec 88Air Commodore Sherwin Derek Leslie Tully5270 GD(P)AOCTezpur
01 Mar 89 to 03 Feb 91Air Commodore Man Mohan Singh Vasudeva6128 GD(P)AOCTezpur
04 Feb 91 to 23 Dec 92Air Commodore Gautam Parihar6775 GD(P)AOCTezpur
24 Dec 92 to 26 Mar 95Air Commodore Purnendu Kumar Mukherjee7698 GD(P)AOCTezpur
27 Mar 95 to 04 May 97Air Commodore Babu Ajit Kumar Shetty10110 GD(P)AOCTezpur
05 May 97 to 08 Aug 99Air Commodore Gurnam Singh Choudhary11870 GD(P)AOCTezpur
09 Aug 99 to 24 Oct 01Air Commodore Guriqbal Singh Nijjar12020 GD(P)AOCTezpur
25 Oct 01 to 13 Oct 03Air Commodore Pranab Kumar Barbora12375 GD(P)AOCTezpur
14 Oct 03 to 06 Nov 05Air Commodore Abhay Gupta13241 F(P)AOCTezpur
07 Nov 05 to 16 Dec 07Air Commodore Amar Singh Ganpatrao Patil13272 F(P)AOCTezpur
17 Dec 07 to 03 Jan 09Group Captain Manas Chatterjee17356 F(P)Stn CdrTezpur
05 Jan 09 to 14 Oct 10Air Commodore Thinide Kumar Nair14680 F(P)AOCTezpur
15 Oct 10 to 12 Aug 12Air Commodore Sandeep Singh17312 F(P)AOCTezpur
13 Aug 12 to 31 Dec 14Air Commodore Ajay Rathore18258 F(P)AOCTezpur
01 Jan 15 to 15 Oct 17Air Commodore Kothapalli Venkata Rama Raju18573 F(P)AOCTezpur
16 Oct 17 to Air Commodore Manish Kumar Gupta20439 F(P)AOCTezpur
Unknown to 19 Jan 21Air Commodore Tejpal Singh20724 F(P)AOCTezpur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.