No.11 Squadron Charging Rhinos

Motto : Vishwambhara Pranadah (Supporters of the Universe)
Date Raised : 1951-11-15 Location : Vadodara
On 15 Nov 51, 11 Squadron was formed at Barrackpore with a complement of 10 Dakota MK III And MK IV aircraft. The `One-horned Rhino' was chosen as the Squadron emblem when the Squadron moved to Jorhat in Feb 1961. The Squadron's motto was chosen as `Vishwambarah Prandah', meaning `Supporters of the Universe'. The Squadron operated Dakota MK III And MK IV aircraft till Apr 79 when HS-748 aircraft were inducted. A mixed fleet of Dakota And HS-748 aircraft remained in the Squadron till the last Dakota was ferried out on 17 Jul 80. An-32 aircraft were later inducted in Jan 96 at Sulur And HS-748 aircraft were fully replaced by Aug 96. On re-establishment at Baroda in Mar 2000, the Squadron has been re-equipped with HS-748 aircraft.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
15 Nov 51 to 20 Aug 52Squadron Leader Phiroz Mehta1715 GD(P)COBarrackpore
21 Aug 52 to 12 Oct 53Wing Commander Shanil Kumar Mukerji1744 GD(P)COBarrackpore
13 Oct 53 to 18 Mar 54Wing Commander Damodar Madhao Oka1813 GD(P)COBarrackpore
19 Mar 54 to 03 Nov 57Wing Commander Solomon Purushottam1928 GD(P)COBarrackpore
04 Nov 57 to 23 Jan 61Wing Commander Soli Cursetji Kaikobad2119 GD(P)COBarrackpore
24 Jan 61 to 27 Jul 63Wing Commander Sneha Proban Sen2636 GD(P)COBarrackpore
28 Jul 63 to 09 Aug 66Wing Commander Harbans Singh Monga3162 GD(P)COBarrackpore/ Bakshi
10 Aug 66 to 04 Aug 69Wing Commander Ranjit Kumar Kukar4103 GD(P)COBakshi Ka Talab
05 Aug 69 to 30 Jul 72Wing Commander Somendra Kumar Roy4032 GD(P)COBakshi Ka Talab
11 Sep 72 to 17 Sep 74Wing Commander Swatantra Kumar Goel4684 GD(P)CO
18 Sep 74 to 12 Sep 76Wing Commander Chander Parkash Puri4917 GD(P)CO
13 Sep 76 to 13 Feb 77Wing Commander Arnold Louis McDonald5320 GD(P)CO
02 May 77 to 24 May 79Wing Commander Ashwini Kumar Bhide5674 GD(P)CO
25 May 79 to 07 Jun 79Wing Commander Manohar Lal Sharma5325 GD(P)CO
23 Jul 79 to 01 Sep 81Wing Commander Ajay Krishna Avasthi5805 GD(P)CO
02 Sep 81 to 08 Jul 83Wing Commander Chitta Ranjan Ghosh6141 GD(P)CO
09 Jul 83 to 16 Dec 84Wing Commander Prakash Sadanand Kalalvar8950 GD(P)CO
17 Dec 84 to 25 Nov 86Group Captain Vijay Singh Yadava6143 GD(P)CO
26 Nov 86 to 24 Jun 88Group Captain Ranjit Kumar Pal8666 GD(P)CO
01 Aug 88 to 28 Apr 91Group Captain Ivor Percival Alexander8430 GD(P)CO
29 Apr 91 to 28 Jun 92Group Captain Ashok Kumar Gupta8776 GD(P)CO
29 Jun 92 to 07 Mar 93Group Captain Chaand Kiran Jolly11384 GD(P)CO
08 Mar 93 to 05 Jun 95Group Captain Kottur Kasturi Rangachari Veeraraghava Yasas11311 GD(P)CO
06 Jun 95 to 06 Jul 97Group Captain Kulmanbir Singh Hundal12784 GD(P)CO
07 Jul 97 to 13 Dec 98Group Captain Manmohan Sud13945 F(P)CO
27 Mar 00 to 25 Aug 02Group Captain Kumar Krishnachandrasinghji Gohil14688 F(P)COVadodara
26 Aug 02 to 31 Aug 04Group Captain Chellappa Subramaniam16089 F(P)COVadodara
20 Sep 04 to 29 Jun 07Group Captain Vishwanathan Raghavan16393 F(P)COVadodara
02 Jul 07 to 28 Jun 09Group Captain Pirangattethu Sivarama Sanal Kumar17170 F(P)COVadodara
29 Jun 09 to 27 Nov 11Group Captain Arun Bhaskar Gupta18121 F(P)COVadodara

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.