No.108 Squadron Hawkeyes

Motto : Shodan Aur Aakraman (Search and Strike)
Date Raised : 1959-11-20 Disbanded : 2017-12-29
108 Squadron of the Indian Air Force was formed at AF Station Halwara on 20 Nov 1959 equipped with Vampire jets. The Squadron was christened ‘HAWKEYES’. The glory and success of the Squadron have been rising ever since its inception. The Squadron has moved across the length and breadth of the country operating from various bases like Pathankot in north, Belgaum in south, Bhuj in west to Baghdogra in east before finally settling down in its present location Nal.The Squadron crest, which depicts a hawk, a streak of lightning, and a battle axe that symbolises the squadron motto of ‘SHODHAN AUR AAKRAMAN’ which means ‘SEARCH AND STRIKE’. The hawk with its keen eyesight symbolises the search element of the motto whereas the lightning flash and the battle axe epitomise the immediate response and power of the strike that follows the acquisition of the target.The Squadron took part in the liberation of Goa and in the offensive action during the 1965 Indo-Pak War in the eastern sector while operating the Vampire aircraft. In Nov 1968 the Sqn converted to Su–7 aircraft becoming the first supersonic strike Squadron of the Indian Air Force and participated in the 1971 operations against Pakistan. In June 1973, the Squadron moved to Adampur and became the first Squadron to convert to the MiG-21M aircraft and ever since then the mighty MiG-21 has served the Squadron faithfully. The Squadron was then assigned the role of strike interdiction, photo reconnaissance and air defence. The Hawkeyes saw action during the Kargil conflict undertaking attacks in some of the most inhospitable terrains in the country while operating from Awantipur. For its exceptional performance, the Squadron was awarded Battle Honours by the President of India. The Squadron was assigned the role of MiG Operational Flying Training (MOFT) from 2003 to 2014. In 2009, the Squadron was awarded President’s standard. Later, in the same year the Squadron celebrated its Golden Jubilee on completion of fifty glorious years of its service to the nation. The Hawkeyes have been an epitome of professionalism and dedication, finely balancing the requirement of remaining operationally sharp and training budding fighter pilots, a job which requires a high degree of professionalism.After 58 years of guarding the nation’s skies, in 2018 the Hawkeyes marched into annals of history with a glorious legacy of the MiG-21 and the high standards hence set forth.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
07 Dec 59 to 15 Apr 62Squadron Leader Keshava Prasad Misra3650 GD(P)COHalwara
16 May 62 to 12 May 65Squadron Leader Robert Arnold Weir3881 GD(P)COHalwara/ Pathankot
13 May 65 to 26 May 65Squadron Leader Nuggehalli Krishnaswamy Ramprasad4673 GD(P)COPathankot
27 Jun 65 to 10 Dec 67Squadron Leader Eric Lionel Allen4582 GD(P)COPathankot/ Bagdogra/
11 Dec 67 to 19 Nov 68Squadron Leader Dilip Shankar Jog4608 GD(P)COBareilly
20 Nov 68 to 16 Jul 72Wing Commander Balchandra Shankar Deshmukh4489 GD(P)COBareilly
17 Jul 72 to 21 May 73Wing Commander Onkar Singh Wadhawan4899 GD(P)COBareilly
22 May 73 to 17 Jul 75Wing Commander Rajendra Kumar Dhawan4736 GD(P)COAdampur
18 Jul 75 to 05 Feb 76Wing Commander Mohan Murdeshwar5178 GD(P)COAdampur
06 Feb 76 to 13 Jul 76Wing Commander Thupakulu Narasimhulu Bhavani Shankar5060 GD(P)COAdampur
14 Jul 76 to 22 Oct 78Wing Commander Viney Kapila5596 GD(P)COAdampur
23 Oct 78 to 14 Jan 80Wing Commander Philip Rajkumar6748 GD(P)COAdampur
15 Jan 80 to 05 May 82Wing Commander Kumarendra De7415 GD(P)COAdampur/ Bhatinda
06 May 82 to 28 Jun 82Wing Commander Prabhat Chandra Prasad8444 GD(P)COAdampur
26 Jul 82 to 28 Feb 85Wing Commander Ashley Malcolm Rodriques8186 GD(P)COAdampur
28 Feb 85 to 20 Apr 87Wing Commander James Arun Benjamin11296 GD(P)COAdampur
28 Apr 87 to 01 Jan 88Wing Commander Adhip Banerjee11592 GD(P)COAdampur
11 Jan 88 to 04 Jan 90Wing Commander Ashok Vishwanath Bhagwat12218 GD(P)COAdampur
04 Jan 90 to 20 Jan 92Wing Commander Kanwar Dalinderjit Singh12403 GD(P)COAdampur
20 Jan 92 to 03 Jan 94Wing Commander Anjan Kumar Gogoi13382 F(P)COAdampur
03 Jan 94 to 18 Sep 95Wing Commander Motilal Nalluri13911 F(P)COAdampur
18 Sep 95 to 24 Nov 97Wing Commander Narinder Pal Singh15036 F(P)COAdampur
24 Nov 97 to 10 Jan 00Wing Commander Harjinder Jit Singh Jallawalla15206 F(P)COPathankot
10 Jan 00 to 15 Jul 02Wing Commander Sanjeev Narayan Deshpande16559 F(P)COPathankot
15 Jul 02 to 27 Jun 04Wing Commander Mohan Kumar Rao17343 F(P)COPathankot
28 Jun 04 to 13 Aug 06Wing Commander Balkrishnan Balachandran18561 F(P)COPathankot
14 Jul 06 to 04 Aug 08Wing Commander Badgu Charles Ernest20449 F(P)COPathankot
04 Aug 08 to 09 May 10Wing Commander Ganapathiraju Srinivas21505 F(P)COBhuj/ Nal
22 Sep 14 to 03 Mar 16Wing Commander Rahul Mathur23987 F(P)CONal
04 Mar 16 to 03 Jul 16Group Captain Rahul Mathur23987 F(P)CONal

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.