No.105 Helicopter Unit Daring Eagles

Motto : Apatsu Mitram (A friend in time of need)
Date Raised : 1959-11-23 Location : Gorakhpur
105 Helicopter Units is the second oldest Helicopter Units of the Indian Air Force. The Units formed at Jorhat on 23 November 1959, was equipped with Mi-4 helicopters and moved to Air Force Station Gorakhpur on 3 August 1987. Besides, communication, Logistics and reconnaissance Units also carries out SHBO and VIP task.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
03 Mar 60 to 27 May 61Flight Lieutenant Maheshwar Sarup Kapoor4096 GD(P)COChabua
28 May 61 to 15 May 63Squadron Leader Arnold Sochindranath Williams3950 GD(P)COChabua
16 May 63 to 07 May 65Squadron Leader Khurshed Jahangirji Mistri3651 GD(P)COChabua
08 May 65 to 12 May 67Squadron Leader Prabhakar Jaywant Jakatdar4237 GD(P)COChabua
13 May 67 to 14 Jan 68Squadron Leader Mohan Chandra4889 GD(P)COChabua
15 Jan 68 to 31 Jan 71Squadron Leader Yenagudde Sadashiva Hegde4812 GD(P)COChabua
01 Feb 71 to 28 Nov 71Squadron Leader Dinesh Chandra Kaushik6353 GD(P)COChabua
29 Nov 71 to 27 Oct 74Squadron Leader Pran Nath Chhabra5334 GD(P)COChabua
28 Oct 74 to 25 Jul 76Squadron Leader Narinder Singh Chahal8155 GD(P)COChabua
26 Jul 76 to 14 May 78Squadron Leader Thiruvenkatachari Jayaraman9474 GD(P)COChabua
15 May 78 to 08 Apr 79Squadron Leader Adolph Vincent Condillac7723 GD(P)COChabua
09 Apr 79 to 23 Sep 80Wing Commander Rakesh Tandon5391 GD(P)COChabua
29 Dec 80 to 29 Dec 82Wing Commander KaranjIt Singh Dhillon7016 GD(P)COChabua
30 Dec 82 to 26 Jun 85Wing Commander Vijay Prakash9468 GD(P)COChabua
27 Jun 85 to 12 Oct 86Wing Commander Anil Govindrao Bendre10570 GD(P)COChabua
13 Oct 86 to 14 Jun 87Wing Commander Harpal Singh Ahluwalia9821 GD(P)COChabua
15 Jun 87 to 18 Jun 89Wing Commander Francis Gomes11409 GD(P)COChabua/ Gorakhpur
19 Jun 89 to 25 Feb 90Wing Commander Pradeep Kumar12029 GD(P)COGorakhpur
05 Mar 90 to 25 Apr 93Wing Commander Jagdish Chander Dahiya12041 GD(P)COGorakhpur
26 Apr 93 to 23 Jul 95Wing Commander Vaidya Nathan Babu13386 F(P)COGorakhpur
24 Aug 95 to 28 Jun 98Wing Commander Richard Anthony15027 F(P)COGorakhpur
29 Jun 98 to 14 May 00Wing Commander Vidhya Sagar Bharti16611 F(P)COGorakhpur
15 May 00 to 04 Aug 00Wing Commander Ashish Kumar Pradhan17162 F(P)COGorakhpur
05 Aug 00 to 22 Aug 04Wing Commander Therli Apparao Dayasagar18122 F(P)COGorakhpur
23 Aug 04 to 25 Feb 06Wing Commander Mohan Gupta18562 F(P)COGorakhpur
26 Jun 06 to 17 Jun 08Wing Commander Manu Chaudhary19896 F(P)COGorakhpur
18 Jun 08 to 20 Jun 10Wing Commander Amitabh Ranjan21022 F(P)COGorakhpur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.