10 Wing

Date Raised : 1952-08-01 Location : Jorhat
AFS Jorhat was formed in August 1952 as the first AFS in eastern Sector. The station was designated as 10 Wing in 1958. The history of aviation in Jorhat and the North- East, dates back to the year 1928, when the first aeroplane a GI-AA-X, piloted by Barnard Leete, landed on the grounds of the Jorhat Gymkhana Club to carry a passenger to Calcutta. The Gymkhana Club (the third oldest in the world) and the field on which the aircraft landed, still exist and all the officers of Air Force Station Jorhat are members of the Club. After World War Il broke out in September 1939, the RAF took over the wasteland of Rowariah Tea Estate from district authorities to build an airfield. Till then, the present airfield area, West of Railway Line was known as Poki-Muri Tapari. Rowariah airfield was handed over to the USAF by the RAF to lift military stores to China. The USAF took over more areas under tea plantation, from Rowariah Tea Estate. The history of Air Transport Support, the IAF's lift force, dates back to 1941 when the China-Burma- India theatre opened up. The India China Station Air Transport Command or ICWATC first came up with two Stations, the Assam Station handling the traffic and India Station handling all other operations. Jorhat was Station No. 4 in Assam Station. Eight years after the end of World War Il on August 1, 1952, the Station Dett at Jorhat was upgraded to an independent Station with a permanent detachment of Dakota aircraft from Barrackpore.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Aug 52 to 01 Aug 53Squadron Leader Harchand Singh Gill2862 GD(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Aug 53 to 01 Oct 53Squadron Leader Gurbachan Singh Bhullar1870 GD(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Oct 53 to 01 Aug 54Squadron Leader Narendra Behari Lall1680 GD(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Aug 54 to 01 Feb 57Wing Commander Edul Jahangir Dhatigara1899 GD(O)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Feb 57 to 01 May 59Wing Commander Pothery Charuvary Ramachandran3514 GD(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 May 59 to 01 Feb 60Wing Commander Christopher Andrew Neelakantan1926 GD(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Feb 60 to 01 Oct 62Group Captain Waman Raghunath Dani1807 F(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Oct 62 to 01 Jun 65Group Captain Amrit Lal Bery1861 GD(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Jun 65 to 01 Feb 67Group Captain Janardan Ram Chandra Kirloskar2857 F(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Feb 67 to 01 Apr 68Group Captain Yeshwant Ramachandra Agtey2715 F(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Apr 68 to 01 Jan 70Group Captain Surinder Singh3009 F(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Jan 70 to 01 Dec 71Group Captain Chandan Singh3460 F(P)Stn CdrJorhat
01 Dec 71 to 06 Feb 74Group Captain Vir Narain4007 F(N)Stn CdrJorhat
07 Feb 74 to 28 Sep 75Group Captain Ranjit Kumar Kukar4103 F(P)Stn CdrJorhat
29 Sep 75 to 16 Apr 78Group Captain Kailash Chandra Sharma4412 F(P)Stn CdrJorhat
17 Aug 78 to 27 Apr 80Group Captain Gursaran Singh Ahluwalia4912 F(P)Stn CdrJorhat
28 Aug 80 to 19 Aug 81Group Captain Hari Mander Pal Singh Pannu5307 F(P)Stn CdrJorhat
20 Aug 81 to 29 Dec 82Air Commodore Manish Kumar Rudra4358 F(P)AOCJorhat
30 Dec 82 to 31 Mar 85Air Commodore Keshave Dev Kanagat4433 F(P)AOCJorhat
01 Apr 85 to 18 Jan 87Air Commodore Mangatil Karakad Chandrasekhar4720 F(P)AOCJorhat
19 Jan 87 to 01 Jan 89Air Commodore Dalip Singh Dahiya5866 F(P)AOCJorhat
02 Jan 89 to 12 Aug 90Air Commodore Sowarnjit Singh Dhillon5186 F(P)AOCJorhat
13 Aug 90 to 22 Nov 92Air Commodore Khushindhar Singh Bindra6863 F(P)AOCJorhat
22 Nov 92 to 04 Jun 95Air Commodore Ranjit Kumar Pal8666 F(P)AOCJorhat
05 Jun 95 to 31 Aug 97Air Commodore Peter Keith Pinto8419 F(P)AOCJorhat
01 Sep 97 to 13 Jun 99Air Commodore Sudhir Mohan Sethi9479 F(P)AOCJorhat
14 Jun 99 to 09 Dec 01Air Commodore Ram Mohan Shridharan12033 F(P)AOCJorhat
10 Dec 01 to 31 Mar 04Air Commodore Pravesh Kumar12411 F(P)AOCJorhat
01 Apr 04 to 01 Jan 06Air Commodore Manmohan Sud13945 F(P)AOCJorhat
02 Jan 06 to 31 Jul 07Air Commodore Roderick Osbern Joseph Assey14108 F(P)AOCJorhat
01 Aug 07 to 31 Dec 09Air Commodore Gurinder Pal Singh15417 F(P)AOCJorhat
01 Jan 10 to 15 May 11Air Commodore Potsangbam Ranbir Singh16243 F(P)AOCJorhat
25 Apr 12 to 13 Jul 14Air Commodore Joseph Vithayathil Paul17165 F(P)AOCJorhat

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.