1 Wing

Date Raised : 1948-03-10 Location : Srinagar
IAF Station Jammu, then the advance HQ of No 3 Wing was formed into an independent 01 Operational Wing, RIAF, administered by Air HQ India through No 1 operational Group, Palam on 10 Mar 1948. In the third week of Jul 1950, No 1 Wing moved from Jammu to its present location. The airfield was developed into an IAF base from the old runway that was used by the erstwhile Maharaja Hari Singh for his personal use. Though the base was formally established in 1948 the first AF Dakota landed on 27 Oct 1947 carrying troops of 1 st Sikh Bn to beat back the advancing Pakistani raiders. The old ATC building still remains at this station as a historical relic and a reminder of yesteryears. Since its inception AF Station Srinagar has played a significant role in all the major conflicts.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
10 Mar 48 to 14 Sep 48Wing Commander Minoo Merwan Engineer1614 GD(P)Stn CdrJammu
15 Sep 48 to 21 Apr 49Wing Commander Hrushikesh Moolgavkar1644 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
22 Apr 49 to 11 Nov 49Squadron Leader Tekchand Gopaldas Kelly1753 GD(O)Stn CdrSrinagar
12 Nov 49 to 16 Sep 51Wing Commander Anand Ramdas Pandit1707 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
17 Sep 51 to 18 Feb 52Wing Commander Ranendu Sen1618 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
09 Jun 52 to 09 Aug 52Wing Commander Chodagam Satyanarayana1610 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
10 Oct 52 to 03 Oct 54Wing Commander Sarosh Jehangir Dastur1792 GD(O)Stn CdrSrinagar
04 Oct 54 to 03 Jul 55Wing Commander Kashinath Baburao Joshi2427 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
04 Jul 55 to 21 Jul 57Wing Commander Amrit Lal Bery1861 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
22 Jul 57 to 28 Jul 58Wing Commander Subodh Kumar Nandi1810 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
30 Jul 58 to 29 Sep 59Group Captain Jagdish Chandra Varma1646 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
30 Sep 59 to 11 Jun 62Group Captain Anantha Ananthanarayanan1607 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
12 Jun 62 to 26 Dec 62Group Captain Damodar Madhao Oka1813 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
27 Dec 62 to 06 May 65Group Captain Christopher Andrew Neelakantan1926 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
07 May 65 to 06 Aug 66Group Captain Gian Dev Sharma1742 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
07 Aug 66 to 11 Jan 67Group Captain Saroj Jena3157 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
12 Jan 67 to 03 Aug 67Group Captain Mohindar Singh Khalsa3138 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
04 Aug 67 to 21 May 70Group Captain Brian Keith Stidston2821 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
22 May 70 to 07 Oct 73Group Captain Rathnaker Sarvotham Sanadi3849 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
08 Oct 73 to 14 Mar 76Group Captain Ashok Kumar4099 GD(P)Stn CdrSrinagar
15 Mar 76 to 23 Dec 77Air Commodore Man Mohan Singh4023 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
24 Dec 77 to 26 Dec 79Air Commodore Kanwal Krishan Malik4335 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
27 Dec 79 to 30 Dec 82Air Commodore Harcharan Singh Manget4666 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
31 Dec 82 to 18 Aug 85Air Commodore Akbar Singh Bains4882 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
15 Aug 85 to 03 Jan 88Air Commodore Satwant Singh5010 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
04 Jan 88 to 11 Jul 89Air Commodore Ajai Kumar Singh6336 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
12 Jul 89 to 01 Mar 90Air Commodore Satish Kumar Sareen5370 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
05 Mar 90 to 12 Jan 92Air Commodore Vinod Kumar Bhatia6497 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
13 Jan 92 to 31 Jan 94Air Commodore Baldhir Singh Ghumman8170 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
01 Feb 94 to 24 Sep 95Air Commodore Man Mohan Sehgal8390 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
25 Sep 95 to 23 Dec 97Air Commodore Ravindra Dattatreya Limaye10464 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
24 Dec 97 to 03 Jan 99Air Commodore Pradeep Vasant Naik12005 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
04 Jan 99 to 16 Jul 00Air Commodore Mahinder Dev Khanna10526 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
17 Jul 00 to 22 Dec 02Air Commodore Satish Kumar Gahlaut12764 GD(P)AOCSrinagar
23 Dec 02 to 04 Jan 05Air Commodore Krishnamurthi Rajaram12933 F(P)AOCSrinagar
05 Jan 05 to 29 Dec 06Air Commodore Sanjib Bordoloi13912 F(P)AOCSrinagar
30 Oct 06 to 19 Dec 07Air Commodore Priya Ranjan Sharma13927 F(P)AOCSrinagar
29 Dec 07 to 16 Dec 09Air Commodore Ramesh Goyal14567 F(P)AOCSrinagar
17 Dec 09 to 04 Sep 11Air Commodore Upkarjit Singh16204 F(P)AOCSrinagar
05 Sep 11 to 18 Feb 13Air Commodore Diptendu Choudhury17335 F(P)AOCSrinagar
19 Feb 13 to 03 Nov 14Air Commodore Balkrishnan Balachandran18561 F(P)AOCSrinagar
04 Nov 14 to 09 Nov 16Air Commodore Manoj Yashwant Marathe18824 F(P)AOCSrinagar
10 Nov 16 to 31 May 18Air Commodore Venigalla Srinivas Choudhary19869 F(P)AOCSrinagar
Unknown to Air Commodore G Krishan Mohan20124 F(P)AOCSrinagar

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.