1 Tactical Air Center

Date Raised : 1957-04-01 Location : Jalandhar
1 Air Task Force was established in Aug 51 to operate in conjunction with XI Corps, the first Corps in the Indian Army. It came about as a result of the deficiencies experienced in coordinating air operations with land operations during J & K Ops in 1947-48. The name was subsequently changed to No. 1 Tactical (Air Support) Group in Jan 55 and finally, to No. 1 Tactical Air Centre on 01 Mar 57. It was the first of the Unitss set up for Joint Air/Land Warfare and thus, marked the beginning of Air/Land Warfare organization in India. In fact, a detachment of the Units set up Adv HQ, WAC with Western Command and manned it till it was established in 1959.
Unit previously existed as 1 TASG

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Mar 57 to 05 Sep 57Group Captain Homi Shapurji Ratnagar1588 GD(P)COJallandhar
15 Oct 57 to 09 Jun 59Group Captain Murat Singh Aulakh1660 GD(O)COJallandhar
10 Jun 59 to 01 Feb 60Group Captain Ramachandra Balaji Godkhindi1760 GD(O)COJallandhar
02 Feb 60 to 29 Jun 60Group Captain Zafar Ahmed Shah1805 GD(P)COJallandhar
14 Jul 60 to 13 Aug 62Group Captain Tekchand Gopaldas Kelly1753 GD(O)COJallandhar
14 Aug 62 to 14 Jan 64Group Captain Solomon Purushottam1928 F(P)COJallandhar
15 Jan 64 to 14 Feb 67Group Captain Gurbachan Singh Bhullar1870 GD(P)COJallandhar
17 Apr 67 to 28 Jun 67Group Captain Soli Cursetji Kaikobad2119 GD(P)COJallandhar
15 Jul 67 to 16 Aug 69Group Captain John Frederick Shukla2458 GD(P)COJallandhar
17 Aug 69 to 14 Jul 70Group Captain Randhir Singh2135 F(P)COJallandhar
15 Jul 70 to 04 Sep 72Group Captain Jagdish Chandra Sengupta3657 F(P)COJallandhar
08 Sep 72 to 23 Sep 73Group Captain Prakashnarain Jainarain Mehra4037 GD(P)COJallandhar
11 Mar 74 to 05 Jan 76Group Captain Robert Arnold Weir3881 F(P)COJallandhar
06 Jan 76 to 23 Apr 78Group Captain Subhash Chander Virmani4097 F(P)COJallandhar
24 Apr 78 to 03 May 79Group Captain Ranjit Singh Bedi5120 F(P)COJallandhar
04 May 79 to 04 Oct 81Group Captain Bhagat Singh Bakhshi4597 F(P)COJallandhar
05 Oct 81 to 31 Jul 85Group Captain Krishna Chandra Misra4255 F(P)COJallandhar
14 Oct 85 to 30 Nov 88Group Captain Dinkar Shantaram Jatar6521 F(P)COJallandhar
01 Dec 88 to 09 Feb 92Group Captain Surjit Singh8148 F(P)COJallandhar
27 Apr 92 to 31 May 93Group Captain Jagjit Singh Ghuman10123 F(P)COJallandhar
23 Aug 93 to 31 Mar 95Group Captain Gurdeep Singh8695 F(P)COJallandhar
23 Aug 95 to 31 Oct 96Group Captain Rajinder Pal Singh10601 F(P)COJallandhar
07 Jan 97 to 10 Jul 98Group Captain P SinghCOJallandhar
30 Sep 98 to 31 Aug 00Group Captain Digvijay Singh13784 F(P)COJallandhar
09 Apr 01 to 27 Apr 04Group Captain Vinod Kumar Chopra14563 F(P)COJallandhar
28 Apr 04 to 13 Jun 06Group Captain Pradeep Kumar Sharan15210 F(P)COJallandhar
14 Jun 06 to 02 Dec 07Group Captain Manas Chatterjee17356 F(P)COJallandhar
03 Dec 07 to 31 Jul 08Group Captain Rakesh Anand15873 F(P)COJallandhar
18 Aug 08 to 28 Feb 10Group Captain Pragat Singh Gill15055 F(P)COJallandhar
15 Mar 10 to 25 Jun 11Group Captain Surender Dhankhar18295 F(P)COJallandhar
18 Jul 11 to 01 Sep 13Group Captain Sharad Subhash Sharma19866 F(P)COJallandhar

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.