1 Base Repair Depot

Date Raised : 1948-08-09 Location : Kanpur
On 15 August 1947, the historic day of India’s Independence, Wing Commander Ranjan Dutta DFC took over the command of Air Force Station, Kanpur from the Royal Air Force. Simultaneously, on this very day, No. 1 Aircraft Repair Depot for servicing and No. 10 Aircraft Storage Units for storage activities were formed at Chakeri, Kanpur. Group Captain DAR Nanda became the first Commanding Officer of both these Unitss. On 09 August 1948, the two Unitss were merged to form No. 1 Base Repair Depot and Group Captain Harjinder Singh MBE PVSM became the first Commanding Officer of this new Units. Nostalgic moments included induction of India’s first jet aircraft, the Vampire in 1954 and the Depot effecting its first major servicing in that very year. Flying Officer Gian Singh still remains a much-remembered name who used to regularly ferry in the Vampire aircraft for servicing at Hanger No.6 of the Depot. 1 BRD has a professionally rich heritage of servicing both fighter and transport aircraft of IAF like Spitfire, Prentice, Austar, Harvard, Otter, Bell Helicopter, Vampire, Toofani, Mystere, Hunter, Avro and presently An-32 aircraft.
Unit previously existed as 1 ARD

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
09 Aug 48 to 26 Jan 55Group Captain Harjinder Singh1963 ENGCOKanpur
26 Jan 55 to 01 May 55Wing Commander Narinjan Parsad Nair2280 ENGCOKanpur
02 May 55 to 19 Aug 56Group Captain Narinjan Parsad Nair2280 ENGCOKanpur
20 Aug 56 to 19 Apr 59Group Captain Dadi Ardeshir Mehta1625 F(N)COKanpur
20 Apr 59 to 20 Apr 60Group Captain Teja Singh Virk1621 GD(O)COKanpur
21 Apr 60 to 09 Oct 60Wing Commander Ardeshir Pestonji Kapadia2150 A&SDCOKanpur
10 Oct 60 to 01 May 63Group Captain Ardeshir Pestonji Kapadia2150 A&SDCOKanpur
26 Aug 63 to 14 Jan 65Group Captain Harish Chandra Rai2589 A&SDCOKanpur
15 Jan 65 to 31 Mar 68Group Captain Raj Kumar Singh Marya2916 AE(M)COKanpur
01 Apr 68 to 31 Oct 69Group Captain Ramesh Chandra Jain3546 SIGSCOKanpur
01 Nov 69 to 20 Nov 70Group Captain Chandrakant Shridhar Naik3499 ENGCOKanpur
21 Nov 70 to 06 Jan 74Group Captain Amrit Dev Datt3789 ENGCOKanpur
07 Jan 74 to 03 Jul 74Group Captain Gurbax Singh Sachdev3801 ENGCOKanpur
15 Jul 74 to 17 Nov 78Group Captain Mahendra Singh Rao3902 ENGCOKanpur
18 Nov 78 to 10 Mar 81Group Captain Lakkamsetti Ramakrishna4266 ENGCOKanpur
11 Mar 81 to 02 Jan 83Group Captain Mukund Chatterjee4530 AE(M)COKanpur
03 Jan 83 to 01 Sep 85Group Captain Uma Shankar Sharma5404 ENGCOKanpur
02 Sep 85 to 31 Aug 87Group Captain Arun Kumar Saraswat6563 AE(M)COKanpur
01 Sep 87 to 28 Aug 88Group Captain Kanthappa Sivalingam7070 AE(M)COKanpur
29 Aug 88 to 19 Nov 91Group Captain Rampati Kondaiah6813 ENGCOKanpur
20 Nov 91 to 05 Jan 92Wing Commander Amya Kumar Chakraborty11501 AE(M)COKanpur
06 Jan 92 to 01 Aug 93Group Captain Amya Kumar Chakraborty11501 AE(M)COKanpur
02 Aug 93 to 01 Jan 95Group Captain Anand Mohan Khanna8845 AE(L)COKanpur
02 Jan 95 to 09 Mar 97Group Captain Kirti Shekhar Chaturvedi12100 AE(L)COKanpur
10 Mar 97 to 01 Jan 99Group Captain Rishi Pal Singh12639 AE(M)COKanpur
02 Jan 99 to 15 Dec 00Group Captain Swaminathan Gopalakrishnan12437 AE(M)COKanpur
16 Dec 00 to 30 Oct 01Group Captain Jogesh Chander Bhasin13073 AE(M)COKanpur
31 Oct 01 to 17 Sep 02Group Captain Ram Rattan Bhardwaj13337 AE(M)COKanpur
28 Oct 02 to 13 Jun 04Group Captain Bhajan Lal Thakral14195 AE(M)COKanpur
14 Jun 04 to 17 Sep 06Group Captain Devinder Singh Khajuria15073 AE(M)COKanpur
18 Sep 06 to 29 Sep 08Group Captain Surya Narayana Murti15945 AE(L)COKanpur
01 Dec 08 to 30 Nov 10Group Captain Rajendra Kumar Yadav17816 AE(L)COKanpur
16 May 12 to 09 Jun 14Group Captain Anjani Gopal Bandyopadhyay18501 AE(M)COKanpur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.