1 Air Defence Area

Date Raised : 1962-12-26 Disbanded : 1966-10-14 Location : Ambala
ADCC is a premier Air Defence Units of HQ WAC which came into being on 26 Dec 62 at Ambala as No 1 Air Defence Area with Air Cmde JC Verma DFC, being its founder commander. During its infancy, the ADA had five sector operation centres employing one type 21, one type 15 and three ANTPSIE radars. Subsequent to the Chinese debacle, the air defence of the country was given a big boost with the help of US aid in the form of Star Sapphire radars. Consequently No 1 ADA was redesignated on 15 Oct 66 as No 1 Air Defence Control Centre. The Units was made responsible for the air defence of the entire area of responsibility of WAC. Over the years, ADCC moved from Ambala to Delhi to be co-located with HQ, WAC. The position of AOC, ADCC is also known as AD Cdr

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
18 Jan 63 to 23 Jun 63Air Commodore Jagdish Chandra Varma1646 GD(P)AOCAmbala
26 Jun 63 to 31 Mar 64Air Commodore Ramchander Atmaram1583 GD(P)AOCAmbala
10 Jun 64 to 13 Sep 65Air Commodore Ramdas Shivram Shipurkar2177 GD(P)AOCAmbala
14 Sep 65 to 14 Oct 66Air Commodore Charandas Gurudas Devashar1867 GD(P)AOCAmbala
Unit continued existence as 1 ADCC

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.