8 Wing

Date Raised : 1956-01-01 Location : Adampur
The genesis of Air Force Station Adampur can be traced back to a tiny airstrip of 1929 yards midway on the Jallandhar – Hoshiarpur highway at Adampur during World War II. 8 Wing Adampur was raised on 16 Mar 1950 as No.305 Wing. In 1956 it was renumbered to No.8 Wing, being an active base of operations during the 1965 and 1971 wars. It has been operating base for MiG-29s for several years and provided support during the Kargil Operations.
Unit previously existed as 305 Wing

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Jan 56 to 08 Apr 57Wing Commander Melville Duarte1772 GD(P)Stn CdrAdampur
09 Apr 57 to 13 Jun 58Wing Commander Padam Singh Gill1656 GD(P)Stn CdrAdampur
14 Jun 58 to 04 Oct 59Wing Commander Arjan Singh Mangharam Bhawnani1868 GD(P)Stn CdrAdampur
05 Oct 59 to 11 Jan 60Wing Commander Hemonto Kumar Bose2348 GD(P)Stn CdrAdampur
11 Jan 60 to 23 Sep 62Wing Commander Leslie Richard Dickinson Blunt1994 GD(P)Stn CdrAdampur
24 Sep 62 to 06 Nov 63Wing Commander Trilochan Singh Brar2884 GD(P)Stn CdrAdampur
07 Nov 63 to 09 Aug 65Group Captain Krishna Ganapathi Raman1767 GD(P)Stn CdrAdampur
10 Aug 65 to 03 Jan 68Group Captain Walter Vernon Alexander Lloyd2623 GD(P)Stn CdrAdampur
04 Jan 68 to 18 Mar 68Group Captain Kanwar Singh2781 GD(P)Stn CdrAdampur
21 Mar 68 to 14 Jul 70Air Commodore Yeshwant Ramachandra Agtey2715 GD(P)AOCAdampur
14 Jul 70 to 31 Oct 72Air Commodore Randhir Singh2135 GD(P)AOCAdampur
01 Nov 72 to 08 Feb 76Air Commodore Samir Banerji2881 GD(P)AOCAdampur
09 Feb 76 to 19 Jul 76Air Commodore Narendra Bahadur Singh2971 GD(P)AOCAdampur
20 Jul 76 to 21 Dec 77Air Commodore Denis Anthony Lafontaine3844 GD(P)AOCAdampur
22 Dec 77 to 21 Dec 79Air Commodore Cecil Vivian Parker4346 GD(P)AOCAdampur
24 Dec 79 to 04 Dec 81Air Commodore Surendra Kumar Mehra4197 GD(P)AOCAdampur
05 Dec 81 to 02 Jan 84Air Commodore Rajendra Kumar Dhawan4736 GD(P)AOCAdampur
03 Jan 84 to 02 Jan 86Air Commodore Janak Kumar5122 GD(P)AOCAdampur
03 Feb 86 to 24 Mar 88Air Commodore Keith David Kingsley Lewis5109 GD(P)AOCAdampur
25 Mar 88 to 31 Aug 88Air Commodore Vinod Kumar Bhatia6497 GD(P)AOCAdampur
01 Sep 88 to 31 Dec 90Air Commodore Tushar Sen6006 GD(P)AOCAdampur
01 Jan 91 to 16 Dec 92Air Commodore Inder Jit Singh Boparai7691 GD(P)AOCAdampur
17 Dec 92 to 01 Jan 95Air Commodore Tej Mohan Asthana7672 GD(P)AOCAdampur
02 Jan 95 to 05 Jan 96Air Commodore Narayan Menon9005 GD(P)AOCAdampur
06 Jan 96 to 06 Jan 97Air Commodore Satish Kumar Jain9716 GD(P)AOCAdampur
07 Jan 97 to 03 Jan 99Air Commodore James Arun Benjamin11296 GD(P)AOCAdampur
04 Jan 99 to 03 Jan 01Air Commodore Arun Gurunandan Katre11852 GD(P)AOCAdampur
04 Jan 01 to 02 Jul 02Air Commodore Suresh Chandra Mukul12930 F(P)AOCAdampur
03 Jul 02 to 19 Sep 04Air Commodore Kughikombil Joseph Mathews13393 F(P)AOCAdampur
20 Sep 04 to 17 Dec 06Air Commodore Inder Singh14082 F(P)AOCAdampur
18 Dec 06 to 26 Nov 07Air Commodore Arup Raha13910 F(P)AOCAdampur
27 Nov 07 to 14 Jun 09Group Captain Pradeep Waman Ambedkar16600 F(P)Stn CdrAdampur
15 Jun 09 to 03 Jan 11Air Commodore Harjit Singh Arora16557 F(P)AOCAdampur
04 Jan 11 to 24 Mar 13Air Commodore Michael Fernandez16967 F(P)AOCAdampur
08 Apr 13 to 20 Dec 15Air Commodore Shridher Kishore Mohlah18259 F(P)AOCAdampur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.