77 Signal Unit

Date Raised : 1989-08-16 Location : Samana (Jamnagar)
77 SU setup in 1989 as one of the first unit operating the THD-1955 radar at a village called Samara, about 55 km from Jamnagar. After extensive trials of the radar, the unit was designated as the ADDC for Saurashtra Sector in June 1991 and has played that role ever since.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
16 Aug 89 to 20 Apr 92Wing Commander Rajinder Kumar11833 GD(N)COSamana
15 May 92 to 31 Jan 94Wing Commander Ashok Kumar Budhraja8960 GD(P)COSamana
07 Feb 94 to 31 Oct 96Group Captain K B SinghStn CdrSamana
01 Nov 96 to 30 Apr 00Group Captain Atul Chaudhury13935 F(P)Stn CdrSamana
01 May 00 to 28 Jul 02Group Captain Harinder Singh Chahal14280 F(P)Stn CdrSamana
01 Aug 02 to 31 May 04Group Captain Prakash Babulal Patel14555 F(P)Stn CdrSamana
23 Aug 04 to 16 Jul 06Group Captain Amit Dev16972 F(P)Stn CdrSamana
17 Jul 06 to 06 Jul 08Group Captain Meenakshi Chandramouli16997 F(P)Stn CdrSamana
07 Jul 08 to 18 Apr 10Group Captain Chandra Shekhar Malik18576 F(P)Stn CdrSamana
19 Apr 10 to 06 May 12Group Captain Ajay Grover18095 F(P)Stn CdrSamana
07 May 12 to 08 Sep 13Group Captain Saji Antony19211 F(P)Stn CdrSamana
15 Dec 18 to 07 Jul 19Wing Commander M K SinghStn CdrSamana

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.